|The London Times|

A Day of Pubs and the Thames - Classic
Sunday, August 3rd, 2003 at 7:36 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Chris and Laua have done so much work with their house, and it looks wonderful! It's really homey, and it's a nice, welcoming place to be.

Today I woke up super-early (5 a.m.) because I'd gone to bed so early, and my mom and I went for a long walk along the Thames. It was really beautiful and peaceful, with some boats coming to and fro, and the canadian geese, mallards, and swans just lazing about. Also, it was still somewhat cool, so that added to the niceness of it even more. We eventually made our way back and had a small English breakfast in a nearby pub, and we bought a Suday Times to try and read up on who's who. I have to admit that I knew who hardly any of them were! Like apparently the scandal of the moment is that some woman is revealing that she has an illegitimate son. I had to read a while before I unovered that this woman is the wife of the Deputy Prime Minister. News to me! But it has been all over the papers. Late this afternoon the 5 of us - the two families - walked several miles down the Thames in the opposite direction to the nearest town for lunch at a realy good pub there. For a few miles in between it was nothing but fields and river, so it was really wild and beautiful. Laura and I got caught up with each other, and I am pleased to say that I like her more and more as the years go by. She used to be somewhat bratty but now she is so completely cool. We refreshed each other on the slang amongst our circle of friends, and she LOVED 'shmee.'

At the outskirt of the town we came across a cricketgame. How English is that, hah. The parents wanted to watch for awhile which let us get some distance between us, and we really got into it. I told her about the relationship I left behind, and she filled me in on the plethora of guys she has to avoid everytime she goes out because she's pulled them all and though that's usually nothing out of the ordinary, now they've revealed that they have feelings for her, or she revealed that she had feelings for them. Drama, yep, it's worldwide.

When we got to the pub I was realy pleased. It had a very modern and comfortable feel to it, and there was a nice spacious beer garden in the back.

Now, I was excited. This was my very first opportunity to order alcohol at a bar with no worries - completely legaly! I felt like a kid in a candy store at the possibilities. However, since we had to trek all the way back to Maidenhead in that obscene heat, I showed restraint and only got a Smirnoff Ice.

After finishing a delicious (WHO said the English have bad food - that's outdated!) meal, we sat in front of the river for a while watching the boats go back and forth, before heading back. However, by the time we did get back, Laura and I felt like we were about to drop on our feet with exhaustion and heat stroke. Why is it SO HOT!? This is ENGLAND! It's not right!

I've spent the rest of the day reading, and hiding from the sun, but the all-pervading heat has taken up residence in here, and since there's no AC (or 'air-con' here) there's no escape!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006