|The London Times|

SO FREAKY
Friday, November 25th, 2005 at 4:48 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Okay, this is so incredibly freaky. . .


I got home last night at around 4 or so, but I was still buzzed, awake, and bored. So I decided to watch a DVD, and I selected a disk of The X-Files, just 'cause it would be short, but also keep my attention until I drifted off. So there I was watching, just enjoying the scene where Mulder comes back from being in a hospital (again) and he and Scully are back in his apartment, and as they enter they pass by a series of large pictures on his wall.

Not so unusual, right? Apparently I didn't think so either; the first time I saw this episode on TV, and the second time when I saw it on DVD, I didn't notice them at all. But this time it caught my eye for some reason, probably because I wasn't really paying attention to the center action of their conversation and my eyes were wandering. Well this time I did notice the background pictures--one which is in the main focus for several frames, brightly lit, and another next to it that is less shown, and slightly darker. I barely acknowledged them though, I just thought to myself, "Oh hey! Those drawings look like they could be from San Francisco!" Because they're houses, and I can always spot S.F. architecture in a second. But even though the pictures were out of the frames by the time I really registed that, a strange feeling was squirming in my stomach, like somthing profoundly OFF had just taken place, but I wasn't quite aware of what it was. I thought I knew what it was, but I couldn't believe it. . .so, my heart pounding, I rewound.


SURE ENOUGH, the house was from San Francisco, but not only that. . .


IT IS MY HOUSE. My house is a giant piece of art hanging on Mulder's wall!!!


Out of all the things that could have been chosen as art (out of countless things), they chose houses. Out of all the houses in the world, they chose one from San Francisco (out of millions and millions), and out of all the houses in San Francisco (out of thousands), they chose MINE.


Out of all the TV shows, or movies, or anything that could have used it, it was in the ONE show that I have watched, loved (borderline obsessed over really, lol) consistently. I don't really watch TV, except for The X-Files! And it wasn't just some RANDOM character's apartment, it was the main character's!!!


Just think about that for a second. . .imagine this show you're totally obsessed with, and one day you notice that the main character has a large picture of YOUR HOUSE in his or her apartment. How creeeepy is that?? First of all, it's just weird cause it places my house within that fictional X-Files universe, and within that universe, Mulder has a picture of the place I grew up on his wall, and secondly, what are the frickin ODDS! Like, astronomical. . .I can't even fathom it.


Looking at it gives me the WEIRDEST feeling, and makes my heart pound, but it is my house, down to every little detail, no doubt about it. The other, fuzzier picture? It's the house one over from us on my block.


It's the freakiest thing to ever come out of the X-Files as far as I'm concerned, and it has nothing to do with aliens, or a conspiracy, or anything supernatural! I just wish I'd noticed it when that episode first aired, so that I could have gotten ahold of the Fox prop people and been like, "Umm. . .yeah, so that picture Mulder has on his wall? That's my house. Is there any way I could buy it?" Because that would be doubly cool. Not only is it a picture of my building, but it used to hang on Mulder's wall, from a show I used to be sooo into (and still like a lot).


Without further ado, here are screen caps, just so you people who know my house understand the complete WEIRDNESS of this. I feel like I'm just standing across the street. . .




SO SO SO SO FREAKING WEIRD. Seriously, let the weirdness of it wash over you. . .it's not just one of those things like "Ha, that's kind of funny." No, it's the most profoundly bizarre thing EVER!!!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Aimee Mann The Moth

What I'm reading:
Niente oggi

What I'm Wearing:
I am still dressed. It is way too late to be dressed!

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006