|The London Times|

Ahhh, the way this song makes me feel. . .
Monday, August 25th, 2003 at 12:49 a.m.

Sooner or Later

I've decided that the last 2:22 minutes of the first song on Coldplay's album A Rush of Blood to the Head are some of the most beautiful I've everheard. Specifically the last 1:13 minutes. They touch something in me, but I don't know what, or why. All I know is that certain strains in certain songs do that to me.

Another one of Coldplay's songs,The Scientist, does this, but in a different way (if I want to get in touch with relationship angst, that's the one to listen to).

For some reason this particular song's instrumental makes me thnk that I am listening to the soundtrack of my life in this one moment, if that makes any sense. It makes me freeze and think, and everything dramatic I am experiencing (leaving Jim - possibly my first love, coming to England on my own, not seeing my family for a whole season) suddenly seems more poignant and meaningful; thrown in sharp relief. Maybe this sounds trite, but the song is powerful to me.

It's probably just me, too; I'm open to such things right now. I'm so thrilled at my future, but of course, as with most transitioning times, I'm also feeling emotionally vulnerable. Who will I know? What will I make of my time here? Will I fall in love with someone else? Will I be happy? Can I do this? I think - nearly know - that I can, but now is a time of uncertainty. Enter Track #1!

I think this has all been prompted by the fact that those closest to me on this trip (Colleen and my mom) have now gone home. What that means is that that familiarity is gone, and it's struck me that I'm here, on my own. And I will be on my own for the most part (at least at first).

That interim holiday time is over, and I'm not longer a tourist like those two. I'm a student residing here! Well, almost. . .I move in on Wednesday, three short days away! Wow.

These are the lyrics of the songs, which upon examinaton (before I was only paying attention ot the music itself) are incredibly meaningful to my situation in their own right.

Politik

Look at earth from outer space,
Everyone must find a place,
Give me time and give me space,
Give me real, don't give me fake,
Give me strength, reserve control,
Give me heart and give me soul,
Give me time, give us a kiss,
Tell me your own politik

Open up your eyes,
Open up your eyes,
Open up your eyes,
Just open up your eyes

Give me one, cause one is best,
In confusion, confidence,
Give me piece of mind and trust,
Don't forget the rest of us

Give me strength, reserve control,
Give me heart and give me soul,
Wounds that heal and cracks that fix,
Tell me your own politik

Open up your eyes,
Open up your eyes,
Open up your eyes,
Just open up your eyes

And give me love over, love over, love over this, ahhh
And give me love over, love over, love over this, ahhh

This song gives me chills.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006