|The London Times|

First Three Weeks
Wednesday, September 14th, 2005 at 6:40 p.m.

Sooner or Later

One day left of the week!

That's what I love about not having Friday classes; the week goes by so quickly! Unfortunately it can totally trick me into thinking I have more time than I do, and so I don't plan far enough ahead with homework. Sad that it's only the second week and already I feel like I'm going to suffocate under an avalanche of work!

Of course it doen't help that my LSAT is in 2 weeks and all the applications have been issued. But anyway, let's just assume I'm stressed about school and move onto more interesting things. . .

My classes are good so far, but I have some very interesting professors. . .one of them looks exactly like the 35-year-old version of that kid in The Sopranos, Tony's son. On one day he was wearing a flaming lips shirt, and on another he was wearing a red tee that said "BLAIR," as in the Prime Minister here, but the 'A' and 'I' were reversed so it actually said "BLIAR," and looked like he should have been in a pub, not a classroom. But he's definitely brilliant, so looks can be deceiving. I bet he's the guy everyone wants on their pub quiz teams, hehe.

Another one is this semi-angry German named Wolfgang that everyone talks about continuously, with a combination of affection and fear, lol. I am finally taking one of his classes, so I'm not quite sure how I feel about this so far. . .

One guy I have for two courses could basically be confused with a student in his Diesel jeans and shirts except that he is the hairiest man I have ever seen. Seriously, it's like a coat all over his arms and up to his collar bone--everywhere except on his head, where is he balding. Haha, how ironic, poor guy!

My only woman is this really perky older french-canadian jewish historian who reminds me for some reason of a sex therapist, she just has that vibe!

It's been a good past two weeks, with two friends' birthdays last weekend on September 11th (why do I know so many people with that birthday? My grandmother too). So needless to say it was quite busy! Thursday we celebrated one at this place we go to on Thursdays all the time, called Kavanagh's, and even though it was her special day, I was the one who got the present, hehe. I met a guy there and, shall we say, things between the two of us were quite exciting. He's Australian, though! Ha, a city full of Brits (well, Conservatives would debate me there, but there are still plenty of them!), and I found an Australian. So yes, Nabila's birthday was probably the most fun I've had in. . .a while.

But then Saturday came around. . .! Our first date was definitely a good start, we even went to NANDO'S!!! Mmm, but I can't let myself like him too much yet. . .look what happened with that guy John last year!

Saturday night was Alyss'a birthday bash at Tantra, which we got on the guest list for, and was just as gorgeous and fun as all the hype says. Unfortunately it was waaay too expensive for normal drink consumption! Luckily I found some guys to buy me a drink and then managed to slip out of their grasp. They were no hot Australian!

Then Sunday my friend Katie and I headed down to Brighton, which is really as kitchy and elegant and fun as they say. First we went inside the Royal Pavillion, which is probably the craziest thing I've ever seen. Our other friends didn't want to shell out the four pounds, but I am so glad we did, because it was insane. The outside is psuedo-Indian, because India was all the rage at that time (the Regent period), but the insane is the most elaborate, garish, opulent, outrageous fake Chinese decor I've ever seen. I have never witnessed so much wealth being poured into such outlandish tackiness in my LIFE, it was awesome!!! It could have easily been straight off the set of a '60s Bond film depicting the lair of a really wealthy Chinese warlord.

After that we needed to rest our eyes a little so we had Fish 'n' Chips in 'The Lanes' section of Brighton which is really cute narrow closed-off roads of boutiques, jewelry shops, caf�s, restaurants, and pubs. We selected a pub that was formerly a church but has been converted, and it was hilarious. Instead of a cross at the altar area, it was a screen vaunted as 'the biggest screen in Brighton' depicting sports stats from the day. Definitely a different sort of religion, but fitting!

We had a few remaining hours so we headed to the place everyone has to see, the Pier. We walked along the weird pebble beach to get there (where some parts have your feet sink in like you're walking through the balls at Chuck E Cheez, and other spots you just walk on the surface like it's gravel. It's more comfortable than you'd think though.

The pier was like a boardwalk carnival with all its smells, rides, and arcades. Unfortunately there were way too many seagulls wheeling above head, and since Katie is terrified of birds (half-jokingly, half not) she was certain that something bad would happen. Just as we had finished taking a picture off the side towards the shore and we about to head inside the huge arcade, she commented that she bet people got it by falling birdshit a lot. No sooner had the words left her mouth, splat. A huge splotch of it landed on her brand new, pristine Coach messenger bag. It was so classic!!! We managed to get her cleaned up though, and went on this ride where you walk up a really tall tower made to look like a lighthouse with things like potato sacks, and then you go down a spirally external slide. It was actually sorta scary but very fun, and since I got my ride fix, I was happy. Then walking back, I too was very wary of the seagulls. . .

Back in London, I've been doing the usual. . .walking in the park with friends and this Australian a lot, going to cafes, I went to the Saatchi with Marco the other day after getting a smoothie (that actually could have been better, but it was decent), and we watched some crazy trippy video installation.

All in all it's been a fun three weeks back. Very eventful in some ways, downright quiet in others. But either way, this won't last for long. It's all about to hit the fan, so I'm enjoying the free time while I can, especially since another one of my best friends is coming from San Francisco soon for even more distraction! Ah, but I can't wait.

Tata

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Nothing, I've been rushing around all day so the quiet is so nice.

What I'm reading:
LSAT Study prep Book

What I'm Wearing:
Fitted white blouse, dark jeans, light gold and light blue silk scarf from thailand.

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006