|The London Times|

School's in Session: Time for Books and Quizzes
Wednesday, January 21st, 2004 at 10:04 a.m.

Sooner or Later

I am reading the most fascinating book right now, in fact I think it's the most intriguing novel I've come across. It's called The Da Vinci Code, and here's the description:

"While in Paris on business, Harvard symbologist Robert Langdon receives an urgent late-night phone call: the elderly curator of the Louvre has been murdered inside the museum. Near the body, police have found a baffling cipher. While working to solve the enigmatic riddle, Langdon is stunned to discover it leads to a trail of clues hidden in the works of Da Vinci -- clues visible for all to see -- yet ingeniously disguised by the painter.

Langdon joins forces with a gifted French cryptologist, Sophie Neveu, and learns the late curator was involved in the Priory of Sion -- an actual secret society whose members included Sir Isaac Newton, Botticelli, Victor Hugo, and Da Vinci, among others.

In a breathless race through Paris, London, and beyond, Langdon and Neveu match wits with a faceless powerbroker who seems to anticipate their every move. Unless Langdon and Neveu can decipher the labyrinthine puzzle in time, the Priory's ancient secret -- and an explosive historical truth -- will be lost forever."

Onto Quizzes:

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?
Moved to Europe, drank legally in both Englad and the U.S., visited Paris on my own, saw Scotland, got accepted into my University's Honor Program. . .and thousands of other small things in everyday-life.

2. Did you keep your New Year's resolutions?
Since I didn't make any last year, then I wasn't in danger of failing, was I? Muahaha. Actually though, in general I wanted to devote more time to everything: social and academic, and I think I succeeded. It helps me live a fuller life.

3. Has anyone close to you given birth?
Nooo!

4. Has anyone close to you died?
Luckily, I haven't known anyone who's died this year, or any other year, except for my grandmother to whom I wasn't close, and that was a long time ago. . .

5. What countries/states did you visit?
Heehee. . .2003 was a good travel year (though 2004 should be better)! States: Washington and Minnesota. Countries: Scotland, France, and England.

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?
I balanced a lot in 2003, but I need to do it an even larger degree this semester. I have more, and harder classes, and I need to save more money for traveling. By "more" I mean at least "some." I did not save well last semester. . .

7. What date(s) from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
The day I left San Francisco, July 25th. My Big Auditions with Juilliard, February 10th. My 21st birthday, December 27th. My first day of classes, September 1st. My first Day back in San Francisco, December 13th.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Juilliard, my GPA, getting into Honors, moving to England.

9. What was your biggest failure?
Not being prudent with money.

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?
A vicious cold here and there, that's it luckily.

11. What was the best thing you bought?
My new titanium powerbook from Mac and all my various bargain hunts. . .people who know me know what I mean, hehe.

12. Whose behavior merited celebration?
A friend of mine overcame a weakness.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?
Basically the men in my life.

14. Where did most of your money go?
Sigh, who knows? Traveling, eating, the underground, drinks, and books.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?
Anything involving Juilliard, then moving to London, then travelling around, then going home again to reunite with my family and old friens.

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?
A couple: "Milkshake," "Heya," and "White Flag."

17. Compared to this time last year, are you:
Wiser? Absolutely.
Healthier? Much more so.
Richer? No, but had I been asked this same question a month and a half ago the answer would have been yes! Damn holidays. . .

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?
I wish I'd been able to sleep more, and sadly there will be an even shorter supply this term! But as far as things within my control are, I wish I'd gotten out and about more, seen more of the city.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?
Waste time procrastinating, while not doing really cool stuff like go out and about in the city either.

20. How did you spend Christmas?
I spent it with my family, and my Godmother Chris (from here in London) visited us. We had our traditional Christmas Eve dinner party, where we decorated the tree during dessert, and then ended the night with midnight Mass. The following morning we opened presents and had a big breakfast, then went on a long walk on the beach. It was perfect.

21. Did you fall in love in 2003?
. . .I don't know. . .I don't think so though.

22. How many one-night stands?
A resounding 1. Not that it was resounding. Ha.

23. What was your favorite TV program?
CSI: Crime Scene Investigation!!! And the old favorites: Late Night with Conan O'Brien and The Daily Show with Jon Stewart.

24. Do you dislike anyone now that you didn't dislike this time last year?
I've recently met people here and there that rub me the wrong way at my school, but no one whom I've known this year as well as last year.

25. What was the best book you read?
A year is a long time to pick a best book out of. . .but I will have to say it's Return of the King (since The Da Vinci Code is a 2004 book). 26. What was your greatest musical discovery?
Hmmmmm, Coldplay. I got really into them this past year.

27. What did you want and get?
My laptop, my Europe train tickets for this summer's trip, that Tiffany necklace. . .

28. What did you want and not get?
An iPod *sad face.* Not that I'm complaining! My parents are very generous to me.

29. What was your favorite film of this year? Same as the book--by far, as well as Finding Nemo and The Pirates of the Caribbean

30. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?
I was 21 and I went out with my friends for a very nice dinner and drinks. I didn't go wild or crazy because I've gotten it all out of my system here in England--it's not a total novelty to me. I saw my favorite movie of all 2003 for the first time on that day as well!

31. How would you describe your fashion style in 2003? Hmmmm. . .I guess I do have fashion very 'me' because people tell me so, but I have no idea what it is. Urban and romantic, and current and classic (if that makes sense). I like a mix of these things, but I can't really define it: I just see things I like and buy them!

32. What kept you sane?
My friends and my mom, because otherwise I would have lost it last semester with everything I had taken on.

33. Who did you miss?
This question is really relevant to my situation! I missed my friends that were first halway across the U.S. from me, and then were halfway around the world when I moved, and I missed my parents. I also missed a 'what': San Francisco!

34. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003.
That's difficult, but I definitely did learn something this year. If you want to be the happiest, you have to be true to yourself, which is hard work because it means you have to work a lot and put yourself out there, but it is so rewarding and worth it.

35. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.
"She's going the distance, she's going full speed. . ." -Cake. Hahah.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006