|The London Times|

Down to LA
Monday, September 6th, 2004 at 11:50 p.m.

Sooner or Later

So during the 2 weeks I was there I just soaked up the city, plus I went on a roadtrip down to L.A., which was such a classic thing. . .

We were going to take my car but the night before I was in the righthanded lane on 280 North (and I wasn't supposed to be on it, gr) and someone's wheel had come off, and by the time I saw it in the dark it was too late to swerve. It got caught under my car and if I hadn't been on the far right I would have been stuck directly on the freeway because it completely jammed underneath and by the time I got to the side of the road the wheels couldn't make traction anymore. Luckily (for me) 2 other cars had busted flat tires on the thing, so there was a towtruck there. I have AAA but my cellphone had just died--leaving a very confused Colleen at the other end. So the operaters were able to jack up my car and retrieve the wheel, but unfortunately the damage was done: the frame was bent and the muffler was knocked off.

SO. . .it was not in shape to drive down to L.A. We rented a car instead, which was FUN, it was a silver PT Cruiser.

On the way down, cruisin' on 101 in our Cruiser, we noticed a blue truck full of guys are age, and thus commenced the 2 hour (about) stint of hard core car flirting. We would pull up, then they would, at first just communicating with body language, lol, but then we drove evenly (totally blocking traffic I might add), and unrolled our windows and had a conversation. The driver, Baby B, was hot! The passenger guy, Jaime, apparenty liked me but he was weird and crazy, though not bad looking. ..

Oh, by the way, we went down to L.A. to surprise Stefanie, who was starting school the following Monday, and so we knew that there'd be tons to do, plus we wanted to see Stef and her house, and meet the roommies!

The special advantage was that we had the PT Cruiser, so we could even park right in front and she wouldn't recognize. But after we left the guys and went our separate ways (they wanted us to join them to get gas and hang out, lol, but instead we got their number and just talked on the phone, lol--how hilarious, but anyway. . .) we hit TRAFFIC. And Stef and her roommates had to attend a birthday dinner so we were a bit anxious about making it on time, and they had to keep stalling.

Finally we made it there, and she has a really cute house in a really cute residential neighborhood, but by the time we parked she was standing in front of the house!

Rapidly we dropped down in a huddle behind the car and called the roommie to bring her back in, and we all ran to the lawn and held up the sign Katie made. When Stef did come out, she was soo surprised and speechless. I would be! I'd be so touched if someone did that for me (ahem).

They went to their dinner and we freshened up, and that night we went out to some parties, and then the following day we went to the Manhattan Beach house one of the roommie's brother's and had a great spread then went down to the beach, where the water was sooo nice.

That night we got to know Stef's 'Pookie' which was fabulous! And on the way back we took 5 which was much shorter but had no car flirting. However, for some reason Katie and I felt extremely high for about 3 hours of the ride and were hysterically cracking up/freaking out about the windmills in Altemont (sp?) Pass (actually I don't even know if that's where they are? Lol). They were creeping us out but also extremely amusing--I don't know.

The last week here was very mellow. I cleaned up my room for my long absense, cuddled my cats while I still had time, had people over to watch tellie on P. Diddy (our nickname for my new flatscreen plasma), and ate too much (New school year--time to bring out the old diet/exercise regime again, sigh).

Okay, next entry is all about London!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006