|The London Times|

My Corner
Wednesday, September 8th, 2004 at 1:44 p.m.

Sooner or Later

At first it seemed like my new room would be a triple, like I would simply switch with the girl who wanted my current room. Although I had an AWESOME experience my first year of college in a triple with my lovely roommies Tejal and Vicki, this one seemed a bit dodgier since apparently the girls had taken up a slight allegiance together against the third, with whom I was switching.

But! No, instead I have once again managed to luck out and got, I think, one of the best rooms in the place. It is on the fourth floor, so it looks out over the houses across the street and out onto the wide London skyline, and it is on the corner of the building, so it has another two windows on that side which look over a lot and has a huge tree which shades that side. These windows are really large and new, and there is tons of light in my room plus a cross-breeze when it's hot (which shouldn't be for too much longer now, lol). The room itself is freshly painted and carpeted, and everything is new, and I have plenty of room to put everything I brought with me.

However, there is a downside. It's supposed to be a double, but the person who was supposed to be here couldn't come, and so I've got this fabulous room to myself! Some people would think this was really great, but since I don't know anyone here that well I would have really liked a roommate. It can get lonely at night! People have not qualms with visiting roommies all the time but if you just visit someone else one-on-one at the very beginning it can be slightly awkward. Luckliy my hall seems pretty cool, and even if I'm tucked in my own private little alley in the corner, I can visit others! I've made th ebest of the situation, though, by pushing the twin beds together to for a king sized one, like what my friend Sarah did after her roommate moved out last year. It's a return of "the pad," oh yeah.

Together with some hallmates last night we went over to Leicester Square to a Mexican Restaurant.

Now. . .as soon as I heard this I was HIGHLY skeptical. Mexican food in Enland? Umm. . .there's no Mexican population here really so they could easily call it that but get away with anything and most people would be none the wiser. For example, at Mindy and Sarah's restuarant last year they thought that the last syllable in 'guacamole' was pronounced like the animal 'mole' and believed it to be a mixture of mayonnaise and avocado--yummy. Also they pronounce jalapenos so that it sounds like 'joll-AW-pennos.' So I was a bit hesitant, but I was craving Mexican like mad, and it sounded like fun since 8 of us were going, so I went along. Well they had damned good drinks, lol. I had 2 which was a good thing, since it kept me occupied as we waited foreeeevvveeer. But despite the bad service, the food was amazingly adequate. You know, it did the trick, and it was actually WAAAY better than this Mexican place we went to in Marina Del Rey, L.A. called Pacos Tacos. Recently a better Mexican food experience in England than L.A. whaaat?

But back to my room. . .I've got an extra bed now, everyone, so come on over! If you don't want us to sleep in the same king-sized bed we can always push them apart, lol. My neighborhood is soooo amazing and close to everything and you'd have a free place to stay! If you look for it, you can find great promotional rates to London so get on that!!!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006