|The London Times|

Back in London
Thursday, September 1st, 2005 at 2:55 p.m.

Sooner or Later

The situation: my good friend is at my school in London for a study-abroad program, and she came a week before school began for orientation. I decided this would be a good time to come as well, to hang out with her, get settled in, and go out at night before having to face the consequences of class in the morning. I checked the move-in date (August 30th), and booked my unchangeable ticket. Then, however, while I am just double checking everything, I see that there is a separate move in day for returning students. And that if you are a returning student arriving early you're charged �100 per night! That's $200!! For that amount I could get some nice hotel, so no thanks. So instead I got a hostel nearby, an though I was annoyed, it was better than paying. However, yesterdatI was allowed to move in because the Housing Director saw me in front of the building while I was visiting my friend (who is new and therefore allowed to move in earlier), and she took pity on me and let me move in without having to pay the extra fees, yay! However, I was most disappointed to discover that my room, which formerly was coveted by all due to the fact that it possessed a small fridge, left behind by someone a few years ago, has now been removed. SO it's now fridgeless, damnit, and there go so many plans. . .

Yes the weather is quite nice. I didn't appreciate it much yesterday but today is quite lovely. I took my friends around the city to show them some of the touristy sights because they've just arrived, and it made me laugh because to them Big Ben, Parliament, Westminster Bridge, the Abbey, and the London Eye are so new and amazing, whereas I just go there now because my GP is at St. Thomas's hospital across the river from the tube stop; I knew I had passed the 'guest' stage of living here when I was trying to plow through the tourists on the bridge--I just wanted to get to my appointment--and all the sights were just part of the cityscape to me, faded in the background.

Not that I don't appreciate it! I still find it all quite beautiful and I was happy to go today. You know what they say--if you're bored with London, you're bored with life. It's going to be weird after I move back to the states and jsut visit, because all that will revert again; I'll be a guest once more.

Well it's pretty uneventful over here except that I just booked tickets for Guys and Dolls to see Ewan McGregor. He's quite talented--and I had the chance to meet him once (actually met, none of this 'he gave me a quick scribbled autograph one time' crap, hehe), and he's just as charming as he seems. In a way it's my last vestage of touristy-ness, but I will always love the west end!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
The beautiful sound of AC in the summertime

What I'm reading:
The Stone Raft by Jose Saramago

What I'm Wearing:
jeans, black top, colorful flip-flops

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006