|The London Times|

Unbelievable!
Sunday, Apr. 10, 2005 at 2:02 p.m.

Sooner or Later

The strangest thing happen to me today, I am still in shock!

I was bored this afternoon, since everyone has absolute loads of work to do, but I've finished mine up, and so I decided to go to the High Street (Kensington, round the corner), and immediately I hit up my favorite place H&M. Once leaving there I still wasn't ready to go home so I decided to browse around Barker's Department Store next door, which is on the corner of the street I come up through to the High Street, so it was on my way anyway.

I'm in there, browsing through their various styles of bags (because as anyone who knows me knows, I love 'em). However, the setup of the store means lots of things are mishmashed together, so on my right an older English gentleman is browsing around something else. I'd say he was in his early to mid fifties, very expensive suit, and very distinguished-looking. He made a comment to me about something and so we started just a casual conversation. Being American I'd chat to anyone happily, and so we were talking casually as I was looking at one section, and he was looking at another.
After about 5 minutes of this he asked me where I was from, and when I replied "San Francisco," he said, "Oh I see, I could have guessed. . .Everyone from San Francisco is very sophisticated."
I was slightly taken aback but replied, "Oh--thank you. . ."
"Whyever did you leave?"
So I explained that I was had been here for two years and I was just about to finish up University here."
"I see. . ." He seemed greatly interested in that, then asked me what I was studying. But he didn't really seem to listen very closely to my answer because as soon as I stopped talking he immediately said: (!)
"I'd really like to take you out for dinner."
What?! The guy is my parents' age!
I was even more taken aback now, but I smiled regretfully and said, "I'm sorry, but. . .I think I might be too young for you."
Him: "Oh it doesn't matter really, I don't think."
AND THEN HE SAID:
"In fact, I think you're at just the right age to make a spectacular mistress."

!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

????????????????????????????????????

"Excuse me?!" I said, extremely incredulous. But it just got worse!

"Oh, I'm terribly sorry if you find me too forward. . .we wouldn't have to jump in bed right away, I'd just like to take you to wonderful dinner.

ARE YOU SERIOUS! 'We wouldn't have to jump in bed right away. . .but you know, we could. . .'

Trying to hold on to my composure and not show too much of my disbelief I just said (my voice kind of betraying me a little though), "I'm flattered. . .but I'm sorry, I really can't do that."

He just shook his head regretfully and said, "Such a shame, you've got such a wonderful young body, and you're so pretty."

(First of all, there are plenty of girls on high street with much better figures than me, second of all, EW!)

Then I said a prompt good-bye and made a speedy escape, conscious of him watching me that whole time. Luckily I could just dart right out the side entrance onto the street I take to walk back to mine.

Can you fathom? I cannot believe he was so forward, he must be a man used to getting what he wants, when he wants it.

Well he can't have me! I briefly thought about the perks of being one (as seen in Le Divorce) but not as a viable option of course! I actually pictured me at dinner with a man who could easily be one of my parents' friends (though I doubt any of them would ever do that type of thing!), but it would be such a different dynamic, and nooooo, there's no way.

So yeah, first time being asked to be some guy's mistress today! That's something new to add to 'Life Experiences.'

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Keane's Bedshaped

What I'm reading:
Armistead Maupin's Tales of the City

What I'm Wearing:
slim-fit black pants (trousers), a 3/4 sleeve pale pink polo, a thin denim jacket, and denim espadrilles.

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006