|The London Times|

M-m-m-MOM!
Sunday, February 29th, 2004 at 8:50 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I should be typing out a paper that's due tomorrow, but this is my last-ditch procrastination effort. Plus certain so-and-sos say I owe them an entry, so here ya go (you know who you are)!

My mom came the weekend before last, Valentine's Weekend, and it was so much fun. She brought me my Uggs, yay!

On Friday night we went to the Lion King, and we had spectacular seats. Front row of the first balcony, center. We couldn�t have requested better seats, and we got them through TKS, so of course they were discounted, nice. We hung around for a while since we had gotten tickets to the night show, and I showed her all about Covent Garden and Leicester Square. We were at those places exactly one half year prior, halfway through August, when she, Colleen, and I went to go see My Fair Lady at Drury Lane. I can�t believe it�s been over six months since then; time flies.

The show, though evidently geared more low-brow, and towards children in part, was nevertheless amazing. The puppetry was so beautiful and fluid, and all the actors were embodiments of their animals. It was probably the highest level of production quality I�ve ever seen in a show. The scene where there is the wildebeast stampede that was phenomenal because I was seriously wondering how they were going to do it. There were parts that were really moving, and yeah I used up a few tissues. . .

Somehow my mom managed to stay up and adjust to the time zone, so the next morning we got up early and went to the Portobello Road Market, which she�s been dying to go to for almost 15 years with me. We didn�t get the chance to go when I was 11, and then we didn�t have time last summer, so finally we made it. That and The Lion King were two of our main goals for the trip, and we accomplished both of them.

I love that place, but shit was it crowded that Saturday. The sidewalks were so heaving that you could hardly move, it was madness. Forget even trying to get to the stands and take a look, no. You were shoved aside by a antique-crazed Italian or American. Those antique people can get manic. Somehow my mom did manage to buy about a dozen of those �pashminas� you get there, of which she�s proud because now she has taken care of everyone�s presents for a relatively cheap price. Plus with that wide array of rainbow colors she found a color which suits everyone. Go Mom. Plus I got a pair of lovely blue topaz and sterling silver drop earrings, perfect because they�re my birthstone and also the color of my eyes. We had lunch at the German sandwich stand, mmmmm, then people watched across the sidewalk at Cafe Nero.

That morning, since it was Valentine�s Day, my mom and I made reservations for 7 at a great Italian restaurant by the Thames, which reminded me a bit of a lot of ones in San Francisco. It was kind of like Fuzio but a little more upscale, maybe because it wasn�t a chain. We made the reservation for 5 because my mom took out Alyssa, Sarah, and Mindy as well, so they got to know her. It was sooo good we had amazing wood-oven pizza and delicioso panacotta for desert. It was really festive, they�d tied heart shaped balloons everywhere. . .We talked a lot about our trip with the Eurail to South and East Europe this summer, and at the end we got little goodie bags, mine which included a 2004 guide for the trip. It�s perfect because it has all the schedules and everything we�ll need to help make fine-tune planning easier.

Also, in mine was that iconic pale green-blue bag with the little box and white ribbon. It was the Tiffany & Co. sterling silver Elsa Peretti �c� that my mom got me for my 21st, which they finally got into our store. I wear it everyday and I�m wearing it now!

On Monday we met my Godmother and my Godsister at the Design Museum near the Tower Bridge where we saw an amazing exhibit which showcased innovative design or concepts in everyday life. A lot of the items were things that I had when I was younger, and they had thousands of fascinating other things. It was definietly one of the most entertaining exhibits I�ve seen. If you�re in London you should definitely go see it. The curator who put it together has a great sense of humour too. For example one thing was a kit for couples to create silicones of the man�s penis, and the title was, �Somone thought of this!� Heheh. It was a very eclectic, very funny, very interesting show.

Afterwards we had reservations for lunch at the adjacent Blue Print Cafe, whose wall is made up entirely of glass and overlooks the Thames and Tower bridge. The view (and the menu) were fantastic and they even had binoculars for taking a closer view of the bridge. Instead I used mine to spy on the people on the boardwalk below, heehee.

It was great seeing my Godmother and Godsister because they�re tonnes of fun, AND this was the first time I�ve seen Chris in London! I had planned to see her all the time, and she even came to San Francisco for Christmas, so I saw her at home before I saw her here, after I moved into school. It�s a shame, I�ll definitely have to do more this term. . .

Onto Carl next but I have to write a paper!

P.S. Happy Leap Year!!!! And April, Happy 5th birthday, hehe.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006