|The London Times|

Sometimes life is extraordinary in its ordinariness.
Friday, July 29th, 2005 at 1:23 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Well, I've had a very interesting couple of days! Part of it was right out of Sex and the City (in fact I'm pretty sure that there was actually an episode dealing with this: life imitates art, imitates life. . .)

It's been uncharacteristically gorgeous here and so I've been getting out and about every day actually getting some color for once! One of these days I was up at Washington Square Park, which is a green square a few blocks from my house that's surrounded by a big white church (where Joe DeMaggio and Marilyn Monroe wed) cafes, and restaurants--very European, I love it. I was with someone and her dog, but headed back on my own, and right as I exited the park, a cute guy on a bike and his equally adorable dog came in. The dog was friendly and came up to me and I exclaimed "Hiii!" but kept walking. A little down the block the guy passed me and smiled and I smiled back, then he wheeled around his bike at the end of the block and came towards me, slowing it down next to me and striking up a conversation. He seemed really nice and interesting, so I let him have my number.

Picked up off the street and bonding over a dog, so urban, lol. . .but the SatC part comes later.

So he called me and we arranged a very North Beach (our neighborhood) date for yesterday, where we went to a great Italian sandwich place, Mario's, that I love. It is right on Washington Square too, so great views. Afterwards we headed to Greco's cafe and chatted some more. He's a really cool guy, and very flirtatious. . .but here's the thing.
The thing is. Okay, maybe I'm jumping to weird theories due to the various cultural stereotypes with exist on this subject (and true, he is Canadian, so maybe he is exempt, but. . .)

He was a hairstylist throughout college, and now the business he's started is a garden designer; he loves everything floral, and I quote. And in addition he's ever so slightly effeminate, and has kind of that 'accent.' I asked my gay guy-friend about this, and so far he agrees it's suspicious, and he hasn't even heard his message yet (for the voice).

And yet! He was very flirtatious and kind of touchy at the end of our date. Soooo. . .

If you watched that show, do you remember the time Charlotte dated a 'gay straight' and she and the other women were deliberating between 'gay straights' and 'straight gays'? Well maybe Dale (his name) is one of these 'gay straights.' I don't know. . .if I get that vibe I don't think I can be attracted, despite how cool/attractive he is; I just need a plain old straight-straight (with the subtlest hint of metro), heheh.

Today was intersting, I made my first local contacts for my career! My dad is friends with a couple who went to Harvard undergrad, and graduated from Harvard Law as well. The woman, Kathy, also conducts interviews for students applying to Harvard University as freshmen. So today I went over to their house in Pacific Heights to ask them all sorts of questions about the application process, expectations of law school, and options following completion. They were absolutely wonderful people and we hit it off very well. They really boosted my confidence for this whole thing with their feedback on me and said that I'm really going to succeed based on everything I said and how I spoke, which is sooo great to hear, especially from such clearly intelligent and successful people! Even BETTER, they have amazing contacts in the city, and Kathy has invited me have lunch with the woman you want to meet in the city as a young female lawyer! She's the head of San Francisco Legal Aid and somewhat of a mentor for people, particularly young women, going into public law, which is all me (ADA). The two of them said that if I were persistent, and made the right contacts (which they want to help me do!) I can be an ADA within three years of law school!!!

I can't believe how well that went, I'm so happy. After that, I feel like I can do well in my interviews, so I am anticipating them with a lot less anxiety now!

It's been an eventful week in general. Our baby (aka youngest friend) Colleen has finally turned 21 as of July 24th, so it's been EXCITING! We had a nice intimate birthday party at mine, at which our friend Ryan performed his culinary magic with a delicious lasagna and an incredible chocolate and vanilla checkerboard cake with fudge ribbon toppings. After dinner, drinking plenty of champagne and wine of course, and having a Happy Birthday Count-Down to midnight, we went out in the never-dull North Beach. We've also hit up Clement, and North Beach again in the several days since the big event. By the way, I PROMISE I will recover your present from my luggage soon Coll! You will get yours. . .unlike some people (cough, Katie, heehee).

Oh, and Michelle, if you're reading this, call me back! I've been here a month now, I wanna see you! :-D

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Coldplay's new CD, specifically What If

What I'm reading:
REreading The Half-Blood Prince The first time was too quick.

What I'm Wearing:
Jeans and a cap sleeved, blue-patterned Gap blouse

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006