|The London Times|

I Used To Love That Game Scattergories
Monday, January 26th, 2004 at 8:39 p.m.

Sooner or Later

*Shivers of cold and excitement* It's supposed to SNOW all this next week! Most of the people here are moaning and apparently I'm the only one excited out of my mind. (Other people may be kind of excited but I'm excited out of my mind.) People have asked me if I've ever even seen snow from the way I look forward to it! I've heard varying reports from a blizzard to a few random flakes here and there. I think we all know which I'm pulling for. . .coughsnowdaycough.

In other news, school is school, but more so. All my classes are pretty intense and require a lot of attention, so I can't just boff off any of them. The subject matter isn't over my head--it's challenging but not overwhelming, but the attention they all rquire is a bit daunting. Well I already know I can't work (it's simply a question of time) so that will help, though it will be hard to tighten my belt financially. . .I guess I'll just have to remember that New Year's resolution. . .ehh.

Speaking of, my friends are obsessing over theirs. Honestly I've never seen such dedication. They are waking up every morning at seven to work out for 2 hours, and have stuck with it faithfully. I warned them that if it was too extreme a plan that it would be much harder for them to stick to it. They are insistent though, so go them. It makes me feel so gulity though; I've gone only twice in the past 5 days. So much for my 30 minutes of daily cardio! And of course since I've sworn off guys that rules out any other form of exercise too. . .

Although I am definitely not against going out, which my friend Alyssa and I did the other night. It was just the two of us and I like larger groups (like a foursome is perfect) but we had a reeeally good time. . .We ventured out of our area to the neighboring borough called Kingston, where there's this place called The Works. But since it was relatively early and we were just girls, we got in for free in a separate line. Once inside we immediately tasted the specialties of the establishment, know'm say'n and the rest of the night was just a wash of good-looking Surrey guys, bad dancers, and a. . .sharing. . .experience between Alyssa and I. Lol--no it was not like that you people (I can anticipate your thoughts). Well it was kind of like that: Alyssa and I accidentally kissed the same guy. But he was really hot, so that made up for it. This is England: pulling is what happens when you walk out the door!

Onto bigger things: I am trying to work it out so that I spend Fall 2005 in New Zealand at the University of Auckland. I am already going to spend next semester in Florence after a month of immersion in Viareggio--I guess I just have wanderlust, hmm? But I love learning about new places, and living in these different parts of the world. It's just so. . .cool (I'm articulate). So I'm talking it out with my advisor right now, and trying to figure out credit equivalents and major requirements. I'm really hoping it works out. Maybe I have stupid motives for wanting to go specifically to New Zealand (I just loved the way it was represented in The Lord of the Rings) but despite that I think going to the South Pacific would be such an awesome thing. I could take a commuter flight to Japan! Go to Sydney for the weekend! (All this "going [this place] for the weekend" has spoiled me now). The only bad thing is the ozone layer, or lack thereof. . .In New Zealand it is not some hazy concept that we might have to be concerned with in 'the future.' There it is real and serious. I'm already at SPF 45, how much higher can I get?! I stil want to go though. . .

I have no sense of what time it is here, since every clock in this entire school reads a different time. I was in a perpetual state of lateness the first week of classes but it seriously wasn't my fault. I couldn't find a damn clock to set my watch to! The flippin' prime meridian is right down the block, you'd think people would take time accuracy more seriously, heheh.

Yikes, I need to go do reading for those classes I was whinging about earlier.

This entry took me three hours to write. AIM is so distracting, and it kind of is a setback if you accidentally close the window when you are almost through with the first version of the entry, whups.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006