|The London Times|

You Think You Know
Tuesday, September 9th, 2003 at 6:40 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I am stuffed! I just got out of dinner and even though everyone else hates the food here with a passion, it's definitely an improvement of the old U.C. food. They don't know how bad it can get, lol!

I had my first true three hour class, Still-life and Model Drawing, today. I had it last week too but we only stayed for about an hour, as it was just the introduction. But today we actually drew! There was a setup of multiple boxes on a table, with paper draped over it, and we had to get dimensions of perspective and depth perfectly. He measured it out! Also, we had to get the shading. It took the full 3 hours to finish. I am very excited and proud too, because I haven't taken any official art classes. Yeah, that sounds arrogant but I was terrified that all these years I'd be thinking I had talent and then when I take an actual class I discover I've been mediocre at best. Hopefully I can really grow technically in this class though.

Today it was the still-life but soon it will be naked people, yesss. Then I'll be able to regale everyone with tales of 'the nakeds' like my friend Ryan. As long as it's not similar to Will Farrel's SNL nude model, then I'll be ok. And even that would be very amusing.

Going back to that mini Harry Potter reference back a few lines, my roommate is in the thick of the latest book, and it's so funny everytime she talks about it because she pronounces things so differently (and quite incorrectly). She pronouces 'Draco' 'Dracko,' 'Sirius' 'Cyrus,' Lupin' 'Luppin,' Quidditch' 'Kidwitch,' and 'Ginny,' 'Ghinny.' But we are talking about it a lot and yesterday she confided in me that she almost feels like we are in Hogwarts. . .the way the school looks, the student population, the size, the fact we're in England. . .LOL! She says she almost feels like she should be taking Double Potions and History of Magic. . .So today when I was bored in Social History of England (I was so tired), I did what she says she does - pretends she's at Hogwarts - but aside from being kind of entertaining, it didn't help much. The problem wasn't with the professor though, because he's very energetic and articulate. The problem is I definitely didn't get enough sleep last night. Everyone's still in that stage where we haven't yet settled into an academic routine so it's like summer camp, so we're all in each others' rooms at all hours. Lauren did a tarot card reading for my roommate, then mixed up some Bach flower extract for me to help me with the 'bla's I was feeling last night. I don't know where they came from, but I was feeling really 'ennui.' Maybe it's just getting back into a really strict routine with classes early in the morning, who knows. The wierd thing is, though, she swore up and down (and she's a very intelligent reliable girl) that it would work, and even though I was incredibly cynical, they did! I feel so much better and happier today, even if I'm a bit tired. Also, she tells me that there are absolutely no side affects, and that they have been incredibly beneficial for her everytime she's used them. Perhaps, I mentioned, it could be that they are just a placebo? But she says that there have been tons of studies on the actual affects. Bach flower extract, it worked for me!

I had a nice experience today. For my drawing class, I'm required to have specific types of pencils, as well as a polymer eraser, and a sharpener. Well, since my class was today at 3.00, of course I only went to pick up these supplies between another set of classes, at 12.00 (plus I still had homework for art that required those pencils, lol, typical). So I walked down to the High Street and found the All About Art store I needed.

The moment I walked in, I noticed. I couldn't help but notice, since the till was right across from the door. Behind the till was one orf the best looking guys I've ever seen. He looked my age or slightly older, brown hair, tall, well-built (in the way I like, ya know: broad shoulders, slim but toned, etc) and he had sparkly light eyes. I don't know if they were green or blue: just that they were sparkly. And he had a great grin too.

As soon as I walked in (and luckily I actually put in effort today, atypically: freshly flatironed and glossed hair, good makeup, vintage crystal earring, new fitted denim jacket, black trousers, black beaded sandals, and a stripey shimmery various-blues scarf), I decided that I definitely would need help finding what I required. And he was very helpful; he went on and on about the values of certain brands over others, Then he would tell me, "You like this one."

"I do?"

-sparkly, mischievous grin- "Trust me, you do."

Then I asked him about erasers and he said, "Well this one's my favorite so I think you should get it too."

Etcetera. So of course, I flirted back. Even if he is one of those guys who is a serial flirt, he was still damn adorable!

Then I got back to school and realized that I had been too dazzled by his lovely grin to remember to buy a pencil sharpener. Oh well, now there's an excuse to go back. Heheheh.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006