|The London Times|

A Busy Weekend - Just How I Like It
Sunday, September 14, 2003 at 12:42 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Yaaawn. I'm exhausted. It's Sunday, meaning homework day, but all I want to do is curl up in bed and read. . .a good book that is, as opposed to the ominous pile assigned to me that's stacked on my desk .

I've had a full and busy weekend, which is one of the most guaranteed things to make me happy. If I sit at home (Sundays excepted) it's just depressing, especially in a town as full of things to do as London.

My roommate (who I've been having minor problems with lately - more on that later) and I have no classes on Fridays, meaning I can reasonably go out three times a weekend: Thursday, Friday, and Saturday nights. And so we did.

Thursday night we got into a posh 21+ club called Edwards because we were dressed really nicely (I was wearing my new 'London' outfit, hah: knee boots, a black pleated mini and black and white stripey top) and used the excuse "We never carry our passports outside the house - it's too risky." There was no cover and yet there was still a dancefloor and they were playing great music: some old school R & B (which I normally don't like, but love to dance to) and the new hits as well. I was very poor but somehow things always work out, in this case my friend Mindy was my benefactor (I paid her back immediately of course).

The next night we went into Kingston. I won't go into too much detail because it can be boring for anyone not there, but suffice it to say I had a great time. But the best thing was I went in with only a few �s but managed to get taken care of all night. Let's all cheer for free drinks.

Despite that amazing night, I think the highlight of the weekend was Saturday afternoon. Two of my friends and I hopped on the District line and got off at Notting Hill Gate, where every Friday and Saturday there is a massive market based on Portobello Road. It is quite extraordinary. It's incredibly bustling and crowded, but it adds to the festive feel of it. Even though it occurs every weekend (at least while the weather is this good), it feels like an Event. With a capital E.

At this market, which stretches on for a few miles within Notting Hill, you can find absolutely anything. They have stalls for everything under the sun, down to the most obscure things like antique magnifying classses to handmade nautical instruments, classy china boxes which incongruously read 'coke,' 'snuff,' 'condom,' on them, knock-off bags, books of every type imaginable, farmers markets, food stands, fresh flowers, Indian textiles, cheap clothes, jewelry of every kind-antiques to modern, priceless wood antique furniture pieces, dinnerware, clocks- from the cheapest to the most antique and rare - and watches, hardware stands selling US-UK transformers etc, and much, much, much much more. It is a veritable smorgasbord of thousands of types of people and things, and there is so much to look at. Basically it's the ideal place to find a present for someone, and have a really good time while you're at it. Portobello Road is known for its antiques and while they were out full force, there is so much in addition, as you can see.

I picked up an 1930s brooch for �8 which is so delicate and gorgeous, and 2 pashminas in cranberry red and sage green for �5 each.

I am managing my money fairly okay, which is important since I have to pay $1,000 for my half share of my new laptop, which I hope will arrive soon. I'm tired of commuting all the way to the computer lab everytime I need to check something online.

Yes, I am lazy.

Okay, now back to my roommate, Elana. I actually wrote an entire entry about this the other day but to my extreme frustration it was erased by a stupid PC.

I feel like she is very genuine as a person, but her interests are starting to seem a bit superficial. All she talks about anymore are clothes and designers. At first she was very interesting, talking about her feelings on Israel, her political views (although she's a Bush-lover, and pouts when "the media is mean to him"), and other things. I just get annoyed by its constance. I too love some fashion talk every now and then, and everyone who knows me knows this. But even for me there is a point! Let's get some variety in here shall we?

She has a lot of the vanity-type pride, but she doesn't have any pride in herself or her own talents at all: it's in her material possessions (and at that, only presents from her parents, not her own purchases). Also, she's very immature and young for her age, and I feel even older than her than I am. She gets 'uncomfortable' around people who are not as 'affluent' or attractive as she likes. What a tiny little bubble she has lived in!

Also - and I hate to press on but this is a good illustrator of what I am talking about - I think her life goals are rather odd. I mean, who am I to judge because I'd love to be a successful actress, but it's different in many ways. I want to get known through hard work and talent. Her aspirations? To be a trophy wife and marry a wealthy older man, and subsequently become a socialite. But she doesn't just want to be a normal socialite, she wants to be the best-known, most celebrated socialite on the pages of Vogue and Harpers' Bazaar. Those women are her idols, and she wants to become like them through a well-negotiated marriage. According to Elana, her mother has groomed her for a 'good marriage' their whole life! (Which is so weird because her mother is such an independent and strong professional - she graduated top of her class at Columbia Law School class) Please! Am I back in the fifties???

So even though I think Elana herself is a sweet girl, the things she's obsessed with are getting a tad annoying. . .

Ok, well time to go. No not because I'm doing homework - I'm lazy remember?

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006