|The London Times|

Excitement
Friday, September 5th, 2003 at 7:20 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Everything here's been wonderful. I fullfilled my (questionable) tradition of starting every quarter/semester by going out with a bunch of new people and having drinks. In this case we went on a very fun pub crawl, we being a group of 5 very cool American girls. Yes, we're in an international school, but it just happens we all live in the same house and so we're the first people each one knows. We started off in a lounge type place and took 'blow job' shots. Oh my god were they good - SO good. They had bailey's irish creme, kahlua, and whipped cream on top! So bad, but so good. . .ahem. We also had Cosmos there. Then we moved on to the crazy buzzing 'Richmond U' pub/bar/club called The Lot. We met tons of guys, some of which we are going with dancing in London tonight (Friday). Yay! So it was Tuesday, meaning 1 pound day, certain drinks were a pound (�) only. We had great conversations about absolutely anything and everything. Aw, bonding. Anyway, since all pubs close at 11, we moved on in a mass migration to this restaurant/bar called The Village, right around the corner from my door, and we gorged on some guy's food, hehe. Then one of the guys gave us two glasses each of the champagne he bought for his friends!

It was a fun, fun night and even better because when I woke up the next morning for my 10.30 class I didn't even have a hint of a hangover. How nice.

I just got back from this really good chinese place with my roommie and this other girl Lauren and her roommate Mindy (who looks JUST like that girl Audrey from Dawson's Creek. I kid not.). I really like those 3. We ate it on the floor of my dorm, while discussing life after death, fate versus free-will (I was the only one who believes in free will!!!), the nature of souls and self, etc. It was a very college-y moment.

I'm having a good time. I like my classes a lot, like I said, even though I can tell they will be pretty work-intensive.

Today I had the day off though, because the class was canceled: my prof has to present a paper at a conference at Oxford (!). So my roommate (who has no classes on fridays) and I headed into downtown London to Camden, which has a wide area devoted to youth markets. It's mostly tacky clothes places but it's funky and fun. I especially love all the knock-off purses, hehe.

So I'm having a good time here. I haven't settled into one routine, but that's fine. I like it because it also means everyone's still putting out feelers for meeting people and there are still a lot of people who haven't settled into cliques.

But let me tell you about the friends I've made so far, and my profs' personalities.

My roommate: VERY spoiled but sweet (I mean, she has a yacht!). Lots of fun and we have lots in common.

Lauren: Tiny but sassy, hilarious, pretty, great style, from Miami but hates it there, has gone to a different boarding school every year, nympho but easygoing.P>

Mindy: Really, really, sweet and soft spoken, but very funny too. Lovely curvaceous blonde. Has a hidden wild side, and likes going off on adventures on her own.

Michael: Another pretty blondish girl Grew up in Northern California and Hawaii. Kooky and bubbly. Very down to earth. Grew up with only her mother who was and still is a huge hippy.

Rosie: Another sass. Flirts like no other and has boys going crazy for her. She does have a great figure. Very confident and funny.

Alyssa: Lots of fun to hang out with, we have lots in common too! We can get into political debates but still respect each other in the morning, hehe. She reminds me of Brianna.

I said I was going to talk about my professors, but I think I'll save that for another entry.

I bought a new laptop today! 'WHY?!' you ask, 'when you had a perfectly good one before??' The prblem was, around New Year's it got dropped and smashed to the hardwood floor about 6 feet below. Since it is made of thin, delicate titanium, this shattered it internally. It is so incredibly fragile, and hardly works at all. It was going to be $1000 to mend it at the store, and even then it wouldn't be the same. So we just decided that my parents can use it at home (ehh, even if we have 2 others there. . .) since it's perfectly good for the internet and word processing. The thing is, if the screen is slightly moved, it freezes. What if that were to happen in the middle of a giant paper?! Oh god, I shudder to even think of it. Plus, its CD/DVD drive doesn't work. Not only does this mean I can't listen to CDs or watch DVDs, which is just a small inconvenience. What it means is that I can't download any new software. So I couldn't download the software I needed for the wireless internet. That means I wouldn't be able to have the internet in my room. Well NOT AN OPTION! So luckily my mom has agreed to pay for it. Well, half. Yeah. . .I'm paying for the other half. But it's worth it! It's the same one, but this time I won't let it drop. I hope. Knock on wood.

Ok, well I have to go get ready for dancing in Leicester (pronounced 'Lester') Square. I think we're going to a place called The End. Then tomorrow I'm really excited because 4 of us (Lauren, Mindy, Elana, and I) are going to the Portobello Road Market, which is a huge street market in Notting Hill. I've been looking forward to this the whole time, and in fact it was the one thing I wanted to do with my mom, but we didn't get to do :-( They sell everything and anything, and it's just a really fun experience. I'm excited!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006