|The London Times|

Richmond University!
Monday, September 1st, 2003 at 2:29 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Here's a loooong-overdue entry, yay!

(This was an e-mail but I decided it made a good post too so here it is:)

I just finished the first day of classses, woot! They sound really tough and I think I will have to work really hard, but thats why I'm here, eh? Ehhh?? That, and to pull lots of English boys, of course. . ! Kidding. . .or am I?!

I had The Psychology of Child Development first, at 10.30 (my earliest class, hehehe) and then Ways of Reading (very hard seeming, even with the background of SH! The prof is really great but from Oxford and Cambridge, so that = hard). But it ends at 13.30, and that's my day! I really like these classes and my others too: Figure drawing, The Social History of London (sounds so fascinating!), and a class called Signs, Images, and Meanings, which is basically the same thing as SH's Seminar, but with a communications twist

I am really loving it here. Richmond is an amazing, amazing, beautiful place.

My roommate is awesome. My room is awesome. I have had 3 roommies and struck gold in every single case.

Ok, let's start with the room. First of all, I'm not in the main dorms building. I'm right next door. . .in a VICTORIAN MANSION. Yeah, it's called 'Montford House' and that's not just because schools call their buildings names. That's the actual ORIGINAL name of the house, because until recently (and still, in some cases) the English named their houses, instead of giving them numeral addresses. But it is amazing.

My room is amazing. I have no idea how I lucked out so much, considering I handed in my room request 2 months late!!! It's huge (I'd say 15 x 12), with 14 foot ceilings, crown molding, art nouveau lights and light fixtures, freshly painted walls in a pale cream, and a bay window out onto the back garden. The ceiling is slighly vaulted, in a soft curve, and it's white. The light in the top has a beautiful circular decorative mold around it, and we have blonde pine furniture, with either cute round knobs or chrome. Next door we have a full kitchen including a free non-coin-operated washer. Across the hall is a private bathroom I only share with my roommate and two other girls. It's fully tiled and has a wood paneled bathtub (the outside of it, of course, lol). Our flat, D (I'm in D1) only has two rooms, so only 4 girls total. The hall itself has white molded wainscoating. It's so pretty!

Ok, now my roommate. It's so perfect, we have the exact same style, so our room will be the cutest, most matching, homey dorm room the world has ever known. We're both francofiles, and love old black and white posters, and have similar visions for what we want. In the beginning the furniture was set up all funky but I rearranged it and it looks perfect now. We both have our own side, etc.

Elana herself is adorable. She hates her figure but it's SO cute. She's a 2 but very curvy/toned. I don't know what she's complaining about. She has light brown hair in a cute style past her shoulders, with blonde highlights, and gray/blue eyes. She's also very tan. We're both mad about theater (we're going to go to a bunch of west end shows together (PS I've already seen 4 - fabulous), we both LOVE SatC, we love all the same music and movies, and other TV shows, and we both have shoe (me, manolo blahniks and her jimmy choo) things, as well as purse things (both of us love LV and Prada). But we have much more meaningful things in common, as well. We both are very close to our moms, we both enjoy going out, but just with good friends, and only get drunk with people we trust, and we both just as much like to stay home and rent a movie and make cookies or something. Every single night we have stayed up into the wee hours of the morning talking animatedly, and we talk so fast and interrupt each other so much because we have SO much in common, and so much to say to each other. We've really clicked, so I've had amazing luck. This is her first time at college though, and she's really close to her family, so she will miss them. I'll be there for her though, to give her advice and such. She already stressed out crazily over registration, so I helped her then too. I don't blame her for mising her family though. They're really great people. They took me out to dinner on Saturday night, to an adorable italian bistro off Leicester Square (clubbing center of London - it was SO crowded when we got out), and we had great conversation. Her mom is a lawyer and her dad is a dermatologist (yesss, inside info!). She has a younger and older sister. Her older one is the most beautiful person I've ever seen. She has been scouted by all the top model companies, by the top agents themselves (this is unheard of!) but I can see why. But she's very down to earth and sweet. She lives in Manhattan and is leading a Carrie-like lifestyle in freelance journalism or something.

The major difference between Elana, who by the way is from Massachusetts) and me, is that I'm Catholic and she's your typical J.A.P. Not 'Jap' like a derrogatory word for Japanese people, but what she calls herself and her sisters: Jewish American Princess! LOL. I would have never guessed, looking at her family. But I guess that proves the point that you can never say. She used to spend every summer in Israel at a kid's camp, and she's very passionately against Yasser Arafat. One of the things we talked about last night was religion. We are very respectful and interested in each other's religion, so it's great. Not only do we have tons in common with one another, but we will learn a lot from each other too.

London itself is amazing. It is my favorite city of all time, aside from SF. You can walk anywhere, and any type of need can be met. For example, I can just take a five minute walk down to the High Street, and find any type of shop, grocery store, restaurant, boutiqe I need. I even applied for a job at Gap today! LOL. Yes, and they have Starbucks too.

I'm having a wonderful time. I'm not meeting as many people as I'd like to since I'm not living in a hall, but since the school is small, I think that that won't really matter as much. I HAVE made really good acquaintances so far, so I am very excited about that.

Well, I hope everyone else's classes are going well too. . .or they will when you have them, lol.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006