|The London Times|

Minnesota-Bound
Wednesday, April 20th, 2005 at 3:26 a.m.

Sooner or Later

I'm taking a flight back to the U.S. early tomorrow morning, which is incredibly sudden and unexpected. I've been a whirlwind of packing and checking off lists, and I still can't believe I'll be with my family tomorrow.

The reason I'm heading off so abruptly, and missing the rest of the week's classes, is that my grandfather died from a heart attack on Sunday night. His funeral is on Thursday and I'm going. My mom didn't ask me to because she expected that, what with the end of term here, I would be horrifically bogged down under work. The thing is, I normally am, but this semester my assignments were surpringly well-spaced, and due earlier. All this time I've been asking why I have so little work, but it's fortunate I don't, since I would hate to miss the funeral.

Not only do I want to be there for my mom and grandmother, but I think he was the best man I know. He was warm, funny, kind, strong, and hardworking. Strangely, he used to scare me when I was little, but I think it was because he's not very talkative, and I took it to mean he wasn't friendly. But as I grew older I came to see what a wonderful man he was, and how everyone who knew him loved him. He was the best grandpa one ever could hope for.

I don't think it's really hit me yet. For some reason I got emotional when the new pope came out and gave his blessings, and normally I wouldn't, so it might be manifesting in those ways right now.

But mostly I'm feeling sad for my grandmother. If you've seen the movie The Notebook then you'll understand me when I say that that is uncannily their life (minus the Alzheimers). But every detail: the two classes, the small town, the other man, the house, their long-term love. . .it's exactly my grandparents.

But I am happy for him, he has lead a wonderful life, and he didn't suffer much at all when he passed. He just celebrated his 92nd birthday a few days ago, and aside from slowing down a little, he was the same guy I've spent every summer with since I was born. He had the great love with my grandmother, the same house they've had since they built it when they were married, a great daughter, a grandchild, a fond place in the community, and wonderful life-long friends. If I could say that I had achieved those things and lived that long, by the time died, I will know that I have been incredibly blessed. . .

The one good thing that will come out of this is that I'll be able to see my mother, whom otherwise I would have gone without seeing for six months, which is the longest I've been away from home, let alone my parents. We've been missing each other a lot recently, so I'm glad I can be there with her for this.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Chantal Kreviazuk's Leavin' on a Jetplane. I just realised that it's quite fitting. . .

What I'm reading:
Armistead Maupin's More Tales of the City Excellent!

What I'm Wearing:
Hot pink velour sweats and a black tank top (vest for you Brits)

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006