|The London Times|

A New Friend, and His Friend "Harry Potter"
Saturday, April 16th, 2005 at 3:33 p.m.

Sooner or Later

It's pretty crazy the way turn of events occur in life. Several years I wouldn't have guessed that recent things would likely happen. . .

Thursday was fun. . .my friend Kathleen, who is doing a year of study in Germany, is on vacation now and visiting me, and we were supposed to go to her friend Sean Biggerstaff's play together The Girl With Red Hair. Of course, things always come up, don't they! I had a massive presentation due in one of my major classes, and so I couldn't make it, but agreed to meet up afterwards, assuming that I'd be done with a large chunk of work by then.

Of course, such as I am, I found 1001 things to do that seemed vastly more important and urgent than my preparation, and I got absolutely zilch done, so it turned out that I could have easily gone. But it transpires that it was better that I didn't go then anyway (more on that later).

So instead I headed over to Alyssa and Sarah's flat and waited for Kathleen to call when it was over. It reached nine-thirty, when the play definitely should have ended, and still no call. Alyssa wondered if she was trying to keep us away, but she had really wanted me to come with her both to coffee that afternoon, and the play, so I tried calling her.

Turns out the phone number I had on my mobile was from the hostel in Glasgow and though the guy was friends with Kathleen and happy to talk to me, he couldn't tell me much on where she was, so I just decided to call Sean's mobile, the number of which I had when he'd called me earlier to also reach her. Success-we got in touch and made the plans.

An hour later we met them up across from Hampstead Theatre at Swiss Cottage Pub, introductions all around. . .I never get the least star struck, but I always am aware of the person's past involvement in the media when I meet him or her. Not in this case, it was just like meeting any friend of a friend, he was so completely normal with his backpack and tube travel card that I can't fathom how sites like these have built up. If anyone out there is reading this who is part of that let me tell you-he's a nice guy, but just your boy next door, completely. Sarah said he reminds her very much of her cousin (except the Scottish accent), and I don't know if anyone would build a shrine to him (I mean, maybe one would, I've never met him, but I don't think so!)

We stayed until closing, talking (and getting hit on my weird old drunk men next to us), and then apparently there was a general consensus of hunger so we went on a hunt for food. The only thing we found in that area was a KFC which wasn't that appealing, and so he suggested we just grab takeaway and go to his flat in Notting Hill and watch movies. Sounded laid back, which was fine since we all had to get up early in the morning to actually work on our presentations (Sarah and Alyssa were in the exact same boat-same class). So we got off at Ladbrook Grove, but ironically all the take-away places were closing, even though there was a nice sit-down Indian place, Narth, still open.

Apparently no Indian food could ever begin to compare to that in Glasgow, but I thought it was delicious (minus the strange music mix of eighties power ballads and soft rock). It's been ages since I've actually had Indian food since my dining-out experiences mostly comprise of Ranoush Juice, Wagamana, and Nando's, so I enjoyed that and the company. The only thing was that Kathleen was so silent, but she must have been very tired since she hadn't slept the night before due to traveling, and she would have to leave at 4 A.M. to catch another flight at Standstead (EWWW).

Also, Alyssa was acting weird. She wasn't acting star-struck at least, but she was acting drunk (from all of two pints of Strongbow). Also apparently she resented not being the center of attention, though it's not as if we dote upon her anyway! So we all thought she was being a freak, but the rest of us got on really well.

After that was The Jerk and channel surfing at his flat, trying to be energetic enough to help keep Kathleen awake, but simultaneously trying to keep it quiet for a sleeping flatmate.

At around 3:30 she had to get her stuff back at mine, and I was SO happy to be sinking back into my bed after I let her in, rather than heading out to the far reaches of London to wait out a flight, let me tell you!

But I certainly would have rather been facing a beach in Spain over a presentation.

Anyway though, right when we ended the night, Sean and I hugged goodbye and I told him to break a leg the next night (Friday), which brought up us maybe seeing his play then since we'd missed it before. I said I wasn't sure if I could make it since I thought all my friends had plans, but then when I turned to Kathleen she urgently and furtively whispered in my face that I must go! Apparently �Harry Potter" was coming. Lol. . .

So Friday I woke up at ten, which was painful considering what time I eventually got to sleep, but somehow I managed to type out a handout and script for my presentation in time. Also, when I got up there I found that somehow I had completely absorbed it and I was able to give it completely off the top of my head and make it seem I had actually prepared! It was such a pleasant surprise. . .seriously, I thought I would completely fumble it. Sarah and Alyssa also did really well too!

Our peers graded us and then we had to individually go over out comments and grades, and many people said I had given the best one, so I got an A! Sarah and Alyssa got very high marks too. YAY!! I needed that A in that class, let me tell you (all three of us did-we think that lecturer is too harsh). . .and it was so nice to get that result after dreading it.

Also, to be honest, what makes it so nice is that we had our cake. . .and ate it too! I not only was able to go out all night with Sarah, Alyssa, Kathleen, and Sean, but I also did well in the assignment!

So later on . . .
But first backing up a bit:

My neighbors, who happen to actually be huge Harry Potter fans, had caught me on my way out to go, and had noticed that I was dressed nicely, so they asked me where I was going. When I told them, they were very excited for me and mentioned that they both had crushes on him. Weird! So Friday morning at breakfast they of course asked for a post mortem, and I said we had a good time and that he was a cool and friendly guy. Also, since I knew what big fans they were, and I wasn't at that time planning to go to the play, I told them about it, and the Harry Potter thing. I figured it was safe, since I couldn't go; they wouldn't depend on me for an introduction. (The last thing I wanted was, after having just met him, making it seem to him that now I felt I could unleash random fan-girls I knew on him. Especially since we hadn't even acknowledged the whole Harry Potter thing at all!)

But then it turned out that Alyssa, Sarah, and Kelsey were all free and up for going. Kelsey was especially pleased, because she had been kicking herself for making plans with her boyfriend on Thursday night, especially since she thought he was cute when she saw the movies. She saw this as a second chance.

The play was excellent, and I understood the cryptic comment Sean gave that �it was very Scottish,� when I asked him what it was about. It was!

Afterwards, though, I ran into the neighbor dilemma. They immediately sought me out, and attached themselves to my side. I have to admit I was slightly annoyed, but I guess if I knew someone who knew a celebrity I liked I might might do the same thing. But I didn't want to bombard him with girls, especially having just met him, and not personally being of that feeling!

(Though don't get me wrong, I'd like to say right here and now that I am a huge Harry Potter fan, but I'm rather fond of the books. The movies are good but I'm not caught up in the celebrity of it, per se)

Anyway, Kelsey and I excused ourselves and went to the bathroom since their waiting around for him to come out was kind of weirding me out, and on the way who should we pass but little Daniel Radcliffe (�Harry Potter� himself). Apparently Kelsey did a scary double-take but I just glanced at him with regular eye-contact; it didn't hit me who it was until a moment later.

He's a very good-looking kid, but quite short! Much shorter than me (at 5'3�), and that's saying something! Of course, he's only what, 15?

Back out there we spotted him and Sean having a massive bear hug and then talking intensely for fifteen minutes by themselves in a corner, lol. My neighbors just kept staring. After waiting around forever I decided that they were just going to be talking all night, so I should just tell him that we really enjoyed it and it was nice meeting him. So when they weren't as enthralled in their conversation I approached and just expected to speak to him briefly and head out.

But quite to my complete surprise he was like, �Hey! Chloe!� and gave me a big hug on the spot!

So we started chatting about the play and meanwhile Daniel Radcliffe was standing there, looking (according to Kelsey) like he was trying to figure out if he knew this older American girl, and seeming a bit left-out, like he wanted to join in with the conversation! Finally I realised I was completely ignoring him so I kind of turned to him and said, �Oh, hey!� friendly-like. He kind of shyly, in a 15-year-old way, replied �hello,� with a slight smile. It wasn't as if I was trying to be rude or anything; I didn't think we'd chat long, I just meant to say goodbye! But at the same time I have to admit that I am amused that so many girls scream his name but I was just like �oh, hey! He's only a kid though, not exactly someone to set me heart aflutter. Anyway, then I turned back to Sean, but tried not to really face my back to the guy, and so he was more vocal, agreeing that the old ladies were great (personally my favorite characters), and that Sean's gig was �so tough" (teasingly: he basically spends a lot of time snogging a very pretty actress).

When I told my mother this story though, she thought I was being a snob (?!?!) to him and said she felt sorry for him! I just replied, �Come ON Mom, don't feel too bad for the kid!� Like I have the power to scar this famous actor by not chatting to him from 'go' as well, seriously. She thinks that people might sometimes be deliberately rude to him just to say they were unpleasant to "Harry Potter." My mother: so compassionate for her fellow human beings! (No, but I do love that about her, even if it makes me laugh sometimes, like then).

A little while later the younger actor left with his parents (who were friendly as well, by the way) and a young teenage girl approached Sean shyly for an autograph, then produced friendships bracelets she had made for him! Shortly afterwards, her beaming parents took a picture of them and he was very friendly about it. It was sweet but very, very bizarre, I have to say. Like I said before he's so normal, and then there's that, which we hadn't seen before. . .weird.

He then came up to talk to Alyssa, Sarah, and I, and sure enough the neighbors were still hanging about and immediately pounced on him and introduced themselves as �Chloe's friends.� They're not really (at all, in fact), but okay. . .Then they said I had invited them. . .great. But he was very nice and polite to them so they got what they wanted, I suppose!
Finally he said he had to go 'shmooze' but mentioned to me that we have to hang out when Kathleen is back in London next time (along with the hug they had witness it was very validating in front of the neighbors. . . I'll elaborate on why later, hehe)

The rest of the night was fun too-Kelsey, Alyssa, Sarah, and I finally went out in Fullham, which is something we've been planning on doing for ages but never got around to, and we discovered a great bar that has hot men (in suits!!) with good music, a dance floor, and no cover! Score!

Then! Today I got two texts from the person entitled �Biggerstaff� on my mobile (that's how I saved him in my phont book, lol).
#1 hey thanks for stopping by last night and hope you enjoyed it! cheers sean.

I replied, �We did, thanks, and have a good last show!�

#2 yeah should be good tonight. so next time I'm back in London we can hang out ok? peace! sean

Then shortly later, one from Kathleen, �Got money on my phone made it to spain am at the beach drinking cheap wine thanks for hosting me in London!�

I'm jealous! But for as good friends as she is with Sean she's never met Harry Potter himself! Ha, what a night.

Today was very enjoyable though: I finally got a top to wear to The Ivy for our reservations in 3 weeks (from Zara, it's gorgeous place sheer top with beading-very 'Chloe' as my friends would say), and Kelsey and I strolled up and down New Bond Street staring in utter disbelief at the sheer size and sparkliness (that's the scientific term) of the diamonds. I seriously have never seen such things in my life!

The only dark spot that came to my day was this evening. My grandfather had a heart attack and is not doing very well. He's being moved to a very, very costly care home, and my grandparents, who largely support my extra London costs, will have to pay for it on their own, and therefore will no longer be able to help out. His health is vastly more important that me being able to have that meal at Nando's, or rent that film, or whatnot, but it's still going to be difficult. . .

Oh, but the reason I feel validated is:
(1) It proved I wasn't telling a self-aggrandizing tale to my neighbors for their benefit (knowing that they love Harry Potter), to make them think I'm cool or something

But more significantly:
(2) For the benefit of my roommate. As anyone who knows me will attest to, my roommate is the lamest person ever; she sucks more than anyone has ever sucked in the history of the world She is extremely religious, doesn't wear a speck of makeup, has not kissed any boy by age 20, never goes out, makes up lies about me to mutual acquaintances, is incredibly conservative and Republican, won't even have an alcoholic drink on her 21st birthday, is seriously immature, and has a whole closet full of color-coordinated grandma sweaters. Scary! Basically she is my complete opposite (she seriously needs to heed her calling as a nun, she already is one in everything but name). Well, we're completely different in every respect except that we both love Harry Potter.

. . .And our neighbors are good friends with her.

. . .So last night will definitely get back to her once she gets back from traveling over this weekend.

. . .And she gets extremely star-struck.

. . .Especially when it comes to this!

HAHA! Eat your heart out, roommate. If I had to come up with something really good about celebrities, I'd say that it's that you can use knowing, or meeting, them to make people you don't like jealous!

In your face, Brittany!

P.S.
This is a quick sketch I made of her while I was taking a 5 second break from writing a paper a few weeks ago, hehehehe.

Disclaimer: I really am a nice and reasonable person, I think, but this girl is enough to drive anyone crazy!

P.S.
My new haircut, complete with side fringe!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Jet's Look What You've Done

What I'm reading:
Guide books on Malaysia, Thailand, and Fiji (trying to decide which one to go this summer).

What I'm Wearing:
dark jeans, a long-ish black tank (vest) top, and a short pale-gold cardigan (ends just at my ribs).

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006