|The London Times|

List of Events
Friday, December 19, 2003 at 9:01 a.m.

Sooner or Later

Hiya! I havent written here forever, I just haven't been in the mood, you know? I will sit down with all the intention to write a full entry but then (a) someone interrupts me or (b) I just sigh and go check my e-mail instead. . .

But today I am resolute! I want to remember what I've been up to these past few days.

Quick rundown from three weeks ago up to now:

My friend won tickets to see a Peter Gabriel Concert, and I took the train over to Bath where a chosen few were graced with an in-studio concert. This guy typically sells out arenas, so it was pretty cool--casual and intimate. Nice! There was lots of energy betwen the 100 of us and the band. Before there was a cocktail party which had the best hors deouvres EVER. I gorged, lol. I also had 2 glasses of wine so by the time the concert came so I was very into the music. Not that is wasn't amazing, because it was. It's weird: I've always liked each song he's done but for some reason I haven't really pursued it. Hmm. Well the guitarist gave me his playlist so I will be downloading them! I missed the last train back to school so I missed my classes the following day, but my friend and I kicked it up in the (very nice!) youth hostel in Bath. She was SO on a high.

Then I went to New York. Katie's cats! And family! Shopping mcGEE. I got my "Uggs" and so did Katie. It was good times. It was weird being in the U.S> but not home. At one point when we were shopping (in the DELIA'S STORE) I heard a girl with an American accent. I thought, Oh hey, she's American! I wonder where she's from. Then I realized. Oh of course. I'm in the U.S. now. They spoke of re-entry shock back at school but I'm okay now. . .In Manhattan we went to some crazy off-Broadway karaoke musical and afterwards got tipsy and played spin the cell phone. First though, I sent Mike off to get me a drink, with $20, and not only did I get no change but he even chipped in: it was a $26 drink! Not only that but it was kind of crappy. Oh well, once I got over that, the rest of the night was fun.

I was stressed out before boarding for London though, because they had overbooked and they were not finding a seat for me. I was really anxious because I had to do all my papers that were due in the next few days, and I didn't have the materials to do them in New York. Not only that but I had missed my maximum amount of classes allowed before you receive an automatic fail. Additionally, they wanted to put me on a flight the following night so I would have missed over a day and a hald and I wasn't even guaranteed a seat then! Luckily there was a business man who got a seat and since he didn't have to be back he gave it to me. AND the only remaining seat that they had left was first class. SO the stress was definitely worth it! And I am so very grateful to that guy. If I knew his address I'd send him a bottle of wine. Anyway, as it was I laboured nonstop to finish all my papers. I literally did not sleep for three days. I couldn't even take naps because I would have another paper due the following day to which I'd have to devote full attention. I had so much fun in NY, but I doubt I will skip off for a week prior to finals again. Too much work to make up for! Finals themselves went alright. I feel I did better in my midterms for most classes, except in Developmental Psych I did better this time. In one hour and a half I filled up the entire blue book plus two additional sides! YES! I worked extremely hard this semester (volleyball, work, choir, community service program, and class), so I will be proud of whichever grades I end up receiving.

Back at home, sweet home, I have been having a ball. I mean, there have been definite downpoints, of which I'm sure some of you are aware, but in general it's been fabulous to see everyone.

Let's see:

Saturday night (when I got home) I was greeted by Alex and Michelle! They both look really great. People are slimming down this year, lol. Colleen now fits a size 6, I lost 30 pounds, Michelle looks even more amazing than usual, etceteras). We just hung out and it was so nice to be back in my room.

The following day, Sunday, the three of us went on a big shopping trip to Crossroads where I picked up some gorgeous Jimmy Choo black leather kitten heel knee boots, a black leather Barney's of New York purse, some Paper Denim jeans, some A&F jeans, a Dior handbag, and a cranberry red Coach coat. This was all for very cheap prices; I love Crossroads!

Sunday night I went to the choir concert with my mom, and Katie was there as well with her father and stepmom, since Steve's good friend Ron is in the choir. The concert itself was absolutely beautiful, and got everyone in the spirit. Afterwards, hundreds of multicolored rose petals fell from the ceiling as the brass trumpeted out carols to which everyone was singing. It was magical. The reception afterwards, however. . .

I was nervous/excited to see J, who was there, but while every other single person came up to me and gave me a huge hug and kiss and inquired all about my life in London, he stalwartly ignored my presence. What blatant rudeness! He could have at least been civil and come up to me and said hi. But no, instead he greeted Katie, whom he known is my friend. What the hell! I kept trying to catch his eye so that I could go over there, but he flatly refused to make eye contact, so I totally chickened out. It's SO weird. Last time I saw him we were close, what has happened since? Has he reunited with his ex, feels weird about we had, what? So I'm baffled and don't know what to do. I guess I won't do anything.

At least the reception had delicious food. Katie and grabbed up the california rolls and lumpia and shrimp cocktails as fast as we could, lol

Afterwards Katie and I went to go pick up Colleen and we all went to hang at Katie's dad's place. I was super tired though so Colleen and I went back to my house for a sleepover.

Monday: Colleen and I saw Elf. What a crazy movie. Wow. It incorporates characters from the claymation version of Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer, v. bizarre. Afterwards I met Katie and Ryan downtown for some scouting (none of us had money) but I ended up not seeing anything. I don't know what to get people for Christmas this year! Man I'm so poor, heh.

We did spend money on a decadent Cheescake Factory meal though. . .lol. . .we started off with one quest in mind: cheescake! But we turned savory.= and ended up not even getting any!

Tuesday I worked, and then Tuesday night was a really fun girly get-together with Colleen, Katie, Keiko, Stef, and Shannon Rowbury. We even called Aileen up in Portland so she could get in on some of our total coolness ;-)

I love the paper mat art that comes out of Mel's outings. With their crayons and the paper the world is our oyster. Colleen drew our 'personalities' and I sketched a hot man Keiko wanted which was then defiled and made a drag queen by Katie. It looked very Hayden Christensen from Life as a House.

Afterward Katie, Stef, Colleen and I snuck into the Botanical Gardens in Golden Gate Park but got too spooked to go on, so we drove over to the Palace of Fine Arts where I confessed my embarrassing story about Sam. . .and J.

Lots of girl talk ensued before I drove everyone home. It was a fun night.

Wednesday I did nothing, which was so very nice. Colleen came over that night and we watched Edward Scissorhands. I love Johnny Depp in that movie.

Then yesterday I worked again and today I have my "reunion!" Katie is coming over later this afternoon and we are going to be getting ready together. I checked the list of those who RSVPed and I don't really recognize people, but I know that a lot of my friends who are going are just turning up, so maybe that will be the way it happens with a lot of other people as well. In any case, I will really be looking forward to seeing this new building that has finally risen, though it will be surreal to see the campus I had spent my life at for four years so drastically changed.

Upcoming business:

My 21st Birthday.

New Year's Eve Party.

What should I do!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006