|The London Times|

Fabric, Oh Yeah
Tuesday, February 10th, 2004 at 1:48 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Whups, it's been about a week since I last updated, and in that time more or less nothing drastic has happened. I still complain about my Prisoners, er, Principals of Writing class, and the cafeteria is still dishing out the same old "phude." However, there have been some highlights!

Mindy's and Sarah's coworker is mates with one of the doormen at Fabric, one the best and most queued-for club in London. I'm not just saying it's good based on that because a lot of such places can be really pretentious meat markets, but Time Out, London specifically said that it was not a meat market in our 'Student Guide' issue; it praised it as classy and unpretentious as well.

My friends and I have had bad experiences in the past with clubs to the opposite, and we (well, I can speak for myself, at least) are so completely uninterested in that aspect of it: we just wanna get our groove on, man.

We've actually tried three times to get there, but the first time we didn't even get into Central thanks to a too-intoxicated friend who had a near-death experience with "The gap" (Seriously it took all my strength to hoist her over it--I was the sober one, again). Then the second time another friend took wa-a-ay too long getting ready so by the time we finally made it all the way across the city to Northern London, the queue was inpenetrable, though we had fun waiting in it for the most part, and we met some cool guys. Then on Thursday we attempted it yet again, but it was closed (so we went to the strange Zoo Bar on Leicester Square instead--pictures to be posted soon!).

"Finally!" we said about Friday. "We have to get in this time," because Mindy and Sarah's coworker had put us on the guestlist. Attempt #4! Would we finally succeed?

Even if we were going to, it was funny: it started out as about 7 of us, and it narrowed down slowly due to various factors:

- Alyssa was in Italy over the weekend with her Italian friend celebrating his birthday.

- Sarah and Ashley had to work.

- Julie was sick.

- Lauren had too much schoolwork to get done.

So it turned out to just be Mindy and me on the night that we were guaranteed to get in because we were on Fabric's guestlist! It was quite an irony.

Nonetheless, we felt very cool as we slid into the special G.L. queue, mostly because we could bypass the ghastly line. THEN it turned out that the guy had forgotten to put us on, so we had to pay, but at LEAST we got to skip that entire queue!!!

The club itself actually delivered! Mindy and I had the most amazing time, and we hadn't even done any shots or anything, which is our usual pre-dancing tradition. Completely straight-edged, we had a lot of fun, which sadly says something. It was HUGE but not overwhelming. All the rooms were small and intimate, or large but centrally located, but it was a labyrinth of dance and music opportunities, weaving though cave like cozy atmospheres where people lounged on huge leather cushions. It had amazing music, a really cool light show in the drum and bass room, local Londoners instead of the irritating tourists of Leicester Square, and most importantly it was not a meat market which means that one could just feel the music without having to be harrassed. People do dance with each other, but guys generally didn't try blind gropes or anything in our experience. Speaking of the male demographic there: so attracitve as well as being respectful on the whole. That is perhaps one reason we will definitely return. (Hopefully we can get on the guest list for real this time). In fact, Mindy and I met a pair of lovely Welsh guys who were sweet and impeccably dressed. Unfortunately they were only in for a weekend visit, but we enjoyed dancing with them. Overall it was a very mellow, relaxing, enjoyable experience, and all the better that it was free to get in and we got to queue-jump, heheh.

The rest of my weekend was spent being completely and untterly useless. I went to town and did some inessential errands, used one of my honors book tokens not to purchase any academic text (scoff) but to get a novel by one of my favorite authors, Gregory Maguire (he wrote Wicked the 'other side' of the Wizard of Oz tale that has recently been adapted onto Broadway--among others). So I read, talked to my mom who's coming this Friday (YAY!) and located her a nice hotel for a decent price around the corner from me.

I did not, however, do a paper that was due today (in fact I did it last night until three instead, but *shrug*--I didn't have a class until noon today and I work better under pressure; I'm happy with it). I also did not do the math homework that was going to do this class, and was going to do it right now. Instead I am typing this out because I got an e-mail that it's canceled. SCORE! I'm on top of things so, I really am! I may be a bit scatterbrianed right now, but I have a lot on my mind. . .

Back to the fact that my mom is visiting. I am ticking off the days.

It's perfect because she'll be here on Valentine's Day and since Valentine's Day falls on a Saturday and because we have no dining service on Saturday nights, she is taking us out for dinner that night to somewhere very nice. Uh-oh, we need to make reservations, speaking of. . . By "us" I mean my roommate Mindy, and my friends Sarah and Alyssa. We're all excited because we're actually doing something so we won't feel like losers, lol.

Also, she's coming bearing gifts:

Mexican food, my new Uggs, some sheets with a 300 tc (our sheets here are like 80 tc, so scratchy), tons of socks, and the most important thing of all: herself (awww).

I also think the timing couldn't be better because of the whole divorce thing: she can come visit me and get her mind off of it, and right now she must concentrate on the preparations of coming and therefore won't have to dwell. Plus, she'll spend Valentine's Day with me and my friends instead of by herself. So everyone's looking forward to this trip. Four more days!

In my Rights Choices and Values class, we have a discussion segment in which we basically get all opinionated on global matters and get into debates. It's actually highly enjoyable because we're all very vocal, and we all take part which makes for really interesting things. However, I can't help but say that I was surprised yesterday. . .when were discussing gender I pointed out that there is a difference between gender and sex: Gender are socially-contructed traits attributed to the phsyiological taxonomy of sex amongst male and females. As soon as I said the word sex, about three guys next to me burst out into uncontrollable snickering giggles.

Excuse me, but am I in college? They couldn't get over it. And I wasn't even talking about sex sex, I was talking about male/female classification. It was really irritating. I would think that by now guys could refrain from losing control everytime they here s-e-x. get over it.
I've put up a guestmap above, as you can see if you look up on the toolbar--third from right, "Map." So if you have a moment can you just post and give a shoutout from where you're from? Since we're from all over, I think it would be interesting to see. Cheers!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006