|The London Times|

Mom's Here (A.K.A. Living It Up)
Monday, November 22nd, 2004 at 2:19 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Whenever someone visits me I actually get out and take from London all that it's worth. Like when I'm in San Francisco, playing tour guide makes me realize how amazing a city it is (they are).

In this case, my mom is here, and we had a fantabulous weekend. On Saturday we walked around Kensington Gardens and fed the birds. I got accosted by swans (who are nearly as tall as me!) on all sides. Good thing I had my umbrella to fend them off, but they were focused, trying to get their necks around it. My mom didn't even have anything but when she walked away one of them grabbed the wrist of her jacket and pulled it, and when she kept going, it grabbed her coattails and tugged, lol. Demanding! It was misty and the park looked like a painting of what late autumn looks like, and we walked around a bit more, just past Royal Albert Hall. Then it was WAY to cold to go on so of course we went shopping!

Then we gorged ourself on Nandos and I ate way to much frozen yoghurt (Homer Simpson voice: "Ahhhhmmm, Nandooos").
Sunday was my mom's birthday so I brought her present along with me to give her. We went to Petticoat Lane Market (still a true market, not so touristy--good) which goes on much longer than I thought it would! I got alk this brand new, sealed, NICE makeup and Bourgeois nail polich for one pound each, and they also had millions of racks of clothing, and shoes, and cheap bags, and electronics. . .then we went to Spitalfields Market which is a world of difference. It's in a huge covered warehouse and it's in stalls with artisan and crafts people. My mom got my grandmother a GORGEOUS pearl collar necklace with matching earrings, and herself some black pearl earrings to match a necklace she already has. It had amazing food as well, and we were starving so we decided to head to Brick Lane for some Indian Food. I've got a favorite place called Prithi (same as Preem, basically, and both are) on Brick lane and Hanbury. It was sooo good and I couldn't keep holding onto my present, so I gave it to her.

When I was back in San Francisco I stopped by the Tiffany store and got her this necklace whose style she says she has been coveting since we were in Santa Fe 17 years ago. We were going through the catalogue (which we get for some reason) and she mentioned she loved it. SO I was looking forward to giving it to her, and she absolutely loved it. It was a great reaction.

We went to Hyde Park from there, for alittle while, then took the 9 back to Kensington, which is more scenic than the tube anyway (and she's never been on a double decker). Harrod's was all lit up, as it gets dark SUPER EARLY here, and we past all the museums as well.

Later we met my Godmother, who lives outside the city, at Starbucks for a caffeine pick-me-up, and then headed to the amazing Wagamama, where we spent a nice long dinner talking. It was a really good day.

Not later on, I'm meeting my mom at The Victoria and Albert Museum, to which I've been a million times (Okay 6 in the past year, still a lot), but I have to see a specific exhibit for one of my classes, and write a review (The Influence of Black Culture in Britain, or something like that.)

I have been preparing for my imminent roommate and totally rearranged my room. Gone is the king-sized bed and bedside table. The beds are on either side of the room and the stand was replaced by another desk. Also an entire new closet has been brought in as well, but it all has managed to fit, somehow (miracle of miracles). It's not as bad as I thought it would be, in fact it just might work! As long as she's not a bimbo, bum, or backstabber, we'll be good. Her name is Emily, apparently, and I've never known a bitchy Emily, so there is hope.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006