|The London Times|

Dorm Party, Tennis Movie, Phantom, Market
Sunday, September 26th, 2004 at 10:28 a.m.

Sooner or Later

London has been good to me this weekend. Well, not weather-wise. It's decided to become cold and sticky, a special combination. It drops fine mists of cold water on you until you're thoroughly damp (this happens rather quickly) and disgruntled. Umbrellas are nearly useless against this because it's so fine that it manages to get in anyway. My umbrella was even more useless because on its first outting one of the bows snapped, so it's a gimp now. Oh and of course I tossed the reciept.

But I haven't been doing much out-doorsy stuff anyway so pish, and I bought a new brelly on eBay.co.uk for 1 penny! So my losses aren't that awful--really barely losses at all (except that my old one was just so pretty).

But anyway, my weekend (getting off tangent):

I have no classes on Fridays so Thursdays are pretty much the first chance we all get to unwind after the (oh-so-long, haha) week. We planned to get over to a karoake bar in Picadilly but definitely got distracted by a huge party going on in one of the student housing (actual) houses, Embassador House (how many times can I say 'house' in one sentence? 4). The bottom room is huge and 4 guys live in there, but big as it was, it was packed. It was our pre-party destination that had turned out to party, period, but we still set to do what we went there to do.

Daisy, my next door neighbor, and I split a bottle of Malibu, and each got a juice carton: orange and cranberry, and a bag of ice. Yummm! We proceeded to finish it throughout a really disjointed but hilarious game of Kings, that lovely card drinking game that I learned back in L.A. a month ago. Gosh, has it only been one month? It feels like so much longer.

Anyway after that we all headed down to Picadilly and into a typical pub-club, packed with people grooving out to the people belting their drunken hearts out up on the mini stage. Unfortunately, since we got there so late, all the time slots were taken and we couldn't be some of the lucky ones in the spotlight. This, I think, very much disappointed some of us, but they made up for it by singing along at the top of their lungs and dancing the night away anyway. Karaoke bars are awesome, as long as people are into it. Which everyone very much was, lol. We have some very interesting pictures!

I woke up bright and early on Friday, which I always do when I've been drinking, weirdly, and Daisy, her roommate Shira, and I went down to Knightbridge for their first trip to Harrod's. I didn't know they have a pet store! But they do, on the second storey, and we went to go check out the type of pet being sold there. Answer, for example: �600 kitties (that's $1,200). Typical Harrod's. But pet mice too. Random!

That night a big group of girls all amassed at our local cinema on High Street Ken. to see Wimbledon. I went with 3 others but we ran into so many there that we knew. It was the perfect chick flick, and the they managed to make the tennis part actually exciting! (Oh wait, the boring country club sport is golf--nevermind then). And Paul Bettany. . .rawrr. Watch out for the one scene when Kirtsten Dunst is in the bathroom making a call and he comes in shirtless, with his sweats slung juuuust-so. MMM! Good scene, Jennifer Conolly is a lucky lady. His character in it is very sweet too, I enjoyed. Oh, and his practice partner isn't bad, either. . .

After we got back, my friend and flatmate from Richmond last year, Nabila, and I decided we were in the mood to see a show, and we decided upon Phantom of the Opera. I've only seen it once, a while ago, and she hasn't seen it at all. So yesterday, in between listening to the soundtrack to get myself psyched up, I grabbed �18.50 tickets (not bad for the West End, trust me) down in Leicester Square, fighting the MANY TOURISTS (still) and the gross mist-rain in the process.

But it was quite worth it! We were able to get all dressed up (I bought a really pretty new bright dusty-rose netty haltertop) which was really fun. We had dinner at a diner off of Leicester and then went to the theatre. Only downside to such cheap tickets--we sat on completely opposite sides of the theater, lol. I was lucky enough to sit in front, next to, and behind a group of really obnoxious Spaniards, who found it perfectly appropriate to talk all amongst themselves at normal-volume throughout the whole beginning of the musical. After being driven to turn around and glare at them and give emphatic "Shhh!"s they finally quieted down. They probably thought I was a total bitch but who just chats at normal volume while you're in the theatre?? They had no concept of etiquette, and it pissed me off that they put me in the position to have to do that.

But after they finally shut up I was able to get into it, and it was so fabulously fun. This cast was much, much more emotional than the Original Cast Recording; they gave rawer performances (ie. cried a lot with deep:
Anguish: the Phantom
Fear/hate: Christine
Angst: Raoul).
But it was rather good, and Nabila loved her first showing.

So that's my weekend so far. Today I plan to go to Spittalfields Market which has somehow eluded me so far, and people tell me it's definitely the best, and 'the market' these days, surpassing Portobello. After that I might try to get to the other 'London' thing I haven't done yet, which is see Speaker's Corner in Hyde Park. Though, looking at the weather, I may have to take a rain check, literally.

I hope everyone else's weekend was nice as well!

Here are four pictures of my new room. The walls are a bit blank now but I'll be adding posters!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006