|The London Times|

My Dad's New Life
Wednesday, March 10th, 2004 at 8:56 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Tuesday: another gorgeous day, but I had to spend it inside, attending classses with my dad the whole time. Well, attending my dad's classes. He wanted me to see him teach, see him at work, which I never have before. I definitely understand why he'd want me to (I've never seen this side of his life which is so important to him), but nonetheless, being stuck inside a college classroom when I'm on vacation and it's so beautiful outside was a little annoying.

However, he is a very good professor I think, and I met some of his students who are my age and pretty cool.

Afterwards we went to his apartment (how weird: his apartment), which he was very eager to show me. He's very happy with it. Well, good for him.

Aside from the fact that it's in a pink house, it's nice. It's got two large main rooms with full windows, and is hardwood floors, and has a hall, two big walk-in closets, a bathroom, kitchen, and back porch. It seems like the perfect size for one person. The only thing is that it's sooo sparsely furnished, which I guess he's been wanting. It's definitely not my style. . .not at all. . .but he's happy.

And to be honest, I think everything is better this way, even though my mom is concerned about the future. I know that she realizes on some level that things are better this way, but after spending 35 years with someone and expecting to spend the rest of them with him as well, the transition is, of course, shocking to her. Especially after trying so hard to keep it all together. Maybe she feels as if she failed, but I just tell her, "People don't mourn the end of their prison sentence! You are liberated!" (thanks Adam Corolla) which is harsh to my dad, but I'm just making a point.

Anyway, I also saw his office and bike workspace around the corner, and he seems like a genuinely better person than before. I could tell immediately, and I like the change. He wants to be friends with my mom. He said he wouldn't be able to live with himself if they didn't speak and couldn't both attend my graduation, my wedding, etcetera, together in peace. My mom says the same.

Christmas this year will be interesting. And as for Easter, well, I don't know. . .

We would always go to Mission Dolores for their amazing service (they rightly celebrate Easter at a higher degree than Christmas) and after that we go to the garden brunch of parish/choir friends nearby. However, they're my dad's friends, not my mom's. Also, I won't be there to go with her to a service either. I wonder what she'll do.

Anyway, in the evening my dad worked again so I bussed it home and gathered all the paperwork I'll need to get my passport. WHAT A PAIN!

Since my driver's license, National Union of Students (NUS) card, and California ID were in that purse as well, I have no way to prove my identity. All I have is my school diploma and yearbook. I PRAY that they will take this. It is so harrowing!!! But there are so many documents to fill, organize, photocopy, order, and understand. Also, I have to use a special expediting service so I have to Fedex it to them by a certain time tomorrow, and then they will hopefully get it to me by Saturday!!

The sad thing is Alex, Michelle, and I can't go out because I have no proof of age. Le sigh.

But another disadvantage of having to use the expediting service is price. The total for this new one is about $300!!! Almost more than the cost for me is the sentimental value. I loved that picture, and it was the last of the old style of the U.S> passports. But even moreso were all my stamps! I had some from all my trips in highschool and college (Slovakia, Hungary, Seinna, 2 from France, and several from Italy), and since it was good for 6 more years imagine all the others I would rack up, like the ones from this summer. It would have such a story to tell, but it's gone forever. It's sad.

I spent the night at my dad's house, in a very comfortable bed, and this morning he made me breakfast. I have to do that damn passport thing today (luckily I have the car), and then we're meeting up later at Cherie and Don's house�those friends who throw the Easter brunches. Following that, we're taking a walk so he can "show me his neighborhood," of which he's so proud.

It's another hot day.

Peace out!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006