|The London Times|

Ooh, Scotland!
Thursday, September 18th, 2003 at 2:19 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Yay! I am leaving tomorrow for Edinburgh, Scotland at 6:45 a.m. (breaking plans with my darling roomie and fiend to go back to Portobello but oh well).

I went up to the Kensington campus for the first time yesterday, for the meeting about the trip, and I have to say, wow. It's not as lush or collegiate as Richmond Hill - it's much more urban. It's a minute's walk from the V&A (Victoria and Albert) and the National Portrait Gallery, as well as some great pubs and. . .and!. . .Harrods! *Mad giggle* The neighborhood has gorgeous houses and is very posh like here, so in that way they're similar. But it's nice in a different way mostly, and I look forward to having classes over there (but not the commute necessarily, ehhh).

Back to the meeting. They talked about all the things we could get up to and I'm very excited. Apparently they have some of the best ghost tours in the world (oooh, chilling) and there's the amazing Edinburgh castle to look at. Plus Edinburgh is a huge Uni town so there are tons of pubs, gigs, and youthy stuff to do night. The school only arranged the transportation and lodging, as well as breakfasts, but aside from that we're free to do whatever we want with our time.

I was worried before I went that since none of the people I've met so far were going that I would be surrounded by cliques but also had the feeling things would turn out. I always end up meeting some people to hang out with, and i was right. On the ride from Richmond to Kensington on the school van I got chatting with three other very cool girls who, like me, want to blend sight-seeing (the castle!) and ghost walks with partying. We totally bonded to and from and since the hotel rooms are meant for four people, we worked out perfectly and have decided to stay together. I love meeting new people and they seem so fun. We'll all be getting to know each other over this trip as well as have an adventure. I am so excited. I'm going to Scotland tomorrow!

On the way back I also talked to another girl in the van, and I discovered she's from san Francisco. She was in my year and she went to Mercy High School. We knew some of the same people. How weird, huh?

She told me that in many ways Edinburgh reminds her of San Francisco in that it's on a bay, hilly, laid back, but also metropolitan. She told me I'd love it; I think I will too.

Next month I am going to Paris for the weekend, again with the school. It's all so exciting, non? Mais je dois practiquer mon francais maintenant, parce-qu'il y a trois ans depuis je l'ai pris! Je suis terrible avec le langue! C'est domage:-(

Okay, well I'd better go pack! *giddy giggle*

Bye all, and my next entry will be about the Green Isle. . .oh wait that's Ireland huh? Oh well, you get the point. A bientot!

Oh, P.S.
Back at the beginning of the entry when I referred to my roommate as 'darling' I actually wasn't being sarcastic. She's toned down the money talk and is acting much more genuine and sweet. Plus, she wrote me a card with pictures and song lyrics about how much she loved me as a roommate and how she is sad she doesn't see me as much anymore. If that wouldn't have melted my heart then I would have been a certifiable ice bitch.

Things are much more 'chill' now though. I think I was just feeling trapped in my room and we were seeing too much of one another so the annoyances were mounting. Now that I have other friends and go out a lot and am in the library studying (so I'm only in the room later at night - hense her saying she never sees me anymore) it's much better. Also, I've always thought Lauren (our mutal friend but moreso hers) was awesome, and so the fact that she basically lives in our room doesn't bother me at all (lol in fact she'll be sleeping in my bed this weekend). The more the merrier! (at least sometimes, lol. I'm an only child - used to my own room - so I won't get too carried away!).

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006