|The London Times|

Ponderances
Tuesday, September 17th, 2003 at 10:22 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I love how my school looks. It is so green and lush and collegiate. Everytime I emerge from the little path from my house I see the ramparts stand out against the sky and think, "Awh, how pretty." So far it hasn't gotten old. Plus (and this is another great thing), my school has tons of squirrels; sassy, bushy-tailed, perky, digging squirrels all over the lawns. They bring a smile to my face because all my friends' schools had squirels and they could exchange squirrel stories. . .all schools but mine that is. All I had were obnoxious, scary, giant ravens that would dive bomb you if they decided it seemed fun.

The squirrels frolic about on the lawns during the day, but you know what else we have frolicking about on the lawn, but at night? Foxes! Red foxes!

The first time I saw them I was coming back from a friend's dorm at around 4 in the morning and I thought that there were several cats trotting about (there are many pet cats around this neighborhood and my friends and I are constantly socializing with them). So I went up to the closest one who was being playful with a pinecone and said "Here kitty!" Then I saw it was not a kitty, but I'm not the only one who's made that mistake. A girl in my house reached down to pet one that was unaware of her, grooming itself. Only when it looked up at the last second, yipped, and bounded away did she realize! I think they're adorable, though, and I'm so happy that they're passing laws making the disgustingly inhumane practice o fox-hunting illegal. Don't know how it's inhumane? I don't know if you really want to. But anyway. . . Well there's other stuff I think then, too, as that first sight hits me. That is, Dear God, how will I make it through that thick haze of smoke? I swear everyone here smokes, and they all clump together in one place so that the smoke is completely concentrated in front of the main building's entrance. You have to hold your breath and run through as fast as you can if you don't want to choke and then even at that my eyes water, that's how bad it is. As a Californian (where you're not even permitted to smoke in bars) I am definitely not used to this. It's kind of shocking, actually.

Today was drawing class, so my hands are black from graphite and my back hurts from sitting hunched over my drawing board. But I love that class. I will finally learn some technique to my madness! Wink.

I keep thinking about how my friends would like Richmond if (when?) they come to visit. I keep thinking of things to show them, like (speaking of my drawing class) how I have to pass through several underground tunnels, a laundry room, some secret passages, a war bunker, and up a spiral staircase before I can get to my Art Studio. I guess that's the way I reconcile both missing people and loving where I am. . .

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006