|The London Times|

The Thistle
Monday, September 22nd, 2003 at 4:28 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I am drenched. I just took a shower in my clothes. By that I mean it's flippin' pouring here. I started to head out to go to High Street, and when I saw the weather I happily grabbed my brand-new umbrella to be used for the first time (not that it hasn't rained - I've just always forgotten, which is why I was excited). So, of course, I promptly left it on the bus. Then the skies really opened. Sod's law, hm?

Sooo. . .Scotland! It was spectacular.

We took the Hogwarts Express (okay it was really the Flying Scotsman line, but it was essentially the same route) out of King's Cross.

Something angering: The girls I was rooming with and I were at the end of the queue but the train was seriously delayed and they ran out of seats for us with our group. So they let the four of us go into first class, so that we'd be seated and they could depart. Muahahahah! We settled into the deliciously comfortble seats in first class with our lovely china, and were poured some delicious-smelling tea or coffee. Just as we were starting to sip our beverages, the guide that came as part of our package (even though we weren't using her at all - we were only using the room and board included) came back and told us to get back with our group. The first class ticket collector came to intervene and said that we were all settled and it was fine with him if we stayed in first class, but she shrilly insisted. To say that we were massively disgruntled would be the understatement of my life, especially because we all had huge bags and had to traverse the entire length of the moving train's narrow aisles (12 cars!) to get from first class at the end to the group's car in the front. We were even further embittered (apparently it was possible) when our own school moderators later told us we should have told her to shove it and just stayed. They were pissed off for us that she made us leave (when even the conductors were fine with it!). Oh well, at least it made me happy that they were sympathetic to our side.

But anyway.

We crossed some spectacular scenery - all lush and rocky and hilly, and it seemed that Scotland was just how I had imagined it. About four hours into it - out of five - we came to the ocean. Oh, what a beautiful sight! It certainly wasn't my Pacific but it made me so happy to see nevertheless. It was deep grey-blue set against green (albeit dryer green since it's been so hot).

We finally got into Waverly Station (Okay, I admit I slept most of the way so it didn't seem too long. We had to be at the front of our school for pickup at 6.30 afterall!). My first impression of Edinburgh (Ed-een-burrr-auh) was it felt incredibly ancient-feeling. I imagined I'd been transported back into time. Because it is set between hills and the bay and they used to have a huge population in the middle ages, all they buildings are really tall. It is so bizarre to see these middle-ages stone buildings going up twelve storeys (that's thirteen American stories) all built against the hills. Apparently the only way they stood up was from the support from the buildings next to them. Hmm, secure. . . !

It is like nowhere I've ever been. It is mystical seeming and old (in a different way from the other ancient places I've been exposed to such as Eastern Europe, Italy, and France). Yet also it is a very modern and metropolitan city. They have all the normal stores as well as all the luxury ones. . .like Louis Vuitton. Also, the University of Ediburgh is a very excellent, and very large school, so there is a lot for a student to do (trust me :-)!

After the group got off we made our way to a charter bus (coach)and received a preliminary tour of the city, when we saw a lot of things that we later decided to go to and visit in depth like the castle, Holyrood Palace (the Queen's Official Scotland residence), the Royal Mile (the High street connecting those two buildings), and Arthur's seat, a very tall expansive hill/park/series of lochs (lakes) that rises above the city.

Afterwards we went back to the hotel and I can't even beleive the one we had. We got a huuuge colonial sized room with two huge windows facing the street. They opened up onto wrought iron balconies that were 1 storey above the street. I was very happy.

We sussed out some dinner (not haggis) and then went on a really creepy ghost walk that took us through the freakiest graveyards I've ever seen, and down into the underground vaults that I swear are the scariest places I've been (and I've been into crypts strewn with thousands of skeletons!). But in those Edinburgh vaults there was something about it. Just. . .a sense I got. They were quite terrifying, even apart from the guide's creeptastic stories.

Afterwards we went to a pub for a drink but since we were exhausted we kept it to one round then fell into delirious sleep back at the hotel room.

The next day we met some of my other friends who'd come up to Edinburgh on their own at the castle, and we spent almost the whole day there. The Scotland War Museum is enclosed there, as well as astonishing views and tons of history with the castle itself. We were engrossed!

Afterwards we went to the Whiskey Heritage Center right next door on the Royal Mile and did a tasting! We tried a series of types but my favorite was a creamy flavorful one along the lines of Baileys, but even better.

After lunch at a Chinese buffet of all places (but it was good!) we continued down Royal Mile and down to Holyrood (I always feel like I'm saying 'Hollywood' with a speech impediment when I say that, lol) Palace. As opposed to the castle, we weren't permitted in here, so we got to admire from outside.

By now it was about six in the evening, so we decided to stop at a pub for some Baileys, since that one small taste of the other kind prompted us to want some. We had been craving it all afternoon! So we stopped at one older classic and and did some people viewing. So that was the first of the night.

By the end of the crazy, craaazy night (I won't go into too many details) We had been to quite a few in total. . .and I was relieved that I hadn't shaved my legs because it made a decision for me - one that I was about to make differently. . .you can make that inference yourself ;-)

I had a great weekend, and I think everyone needs to experience Edinburgh for him/herself if at all possible. It's really incredible. Okay, now I'm off to watch Shrek with a guy I go to school with, Andrew. Ta.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006