|The London Times|

It's Procrastination Season
Sunday, October 3rd, 2004 at 7:30 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I am officially back to school: I'm writing a diaryland entry to avoid writing a paper! It's not even that big a deal�just 5 pages. I am amused to recall how during my freshman year of high school I would have found five pages an enormous task, but now it's nothing, just Sunday night homework. It's due tomorrow, but I've got all my necessary resources spread out on my desk, some Cherry Coke as my brain fuel (sad), and three windows out of which to watch and listen to the rain pour over the Kensington skyline. On top of all that, my room is clean and my bed is made (essential for my concentration). So all in all, the setting is perfect for fine paper-writing. There's just one catch. . .I am incredibly out of practice. My body is in school but my brain is still on vacation, and spoiled. I just can't focus! Luckily this is a very minor one and it will get me back in the habit, but my starts and restarts are so disjointed.

It doesn't help, actually, that this is a subject on with I know a lot, so I'm trying to narrow it down as much as possible. Unfortunately I keep thinking of all these additional topics that would work brilliantly, but as I've only got to write 1,500 words I'm spending too much energy deciding what goes in and what stays out! Also, of course, there is Diaryland to tempt me with its evil siren song. . .

Not to say that I've been so out-of-focus all weekend. Yesterday I was actually very productive: I read an entire novel thoroughly�Buddha of Suburbia� which is due tomorrow for my Lit class. I was supposed to actually go to Oxford with my hallmates but I did that instead! Aren't I good?

Okay, to be honest the bus was sold out because by the time I decided to go it was too late, and then I was really ill so I stayed in bed. . .and it's a good book so it kept me entertained while I lied there. But still, I got it done, hm?

Oh and I also took care of something else, taking a pic of my new hair cut:

Now I'd better get back to work, really. I know this stuff; I need to just do it. Take care everyone and enjoy your last day of freedom for the week!

P.S.
2:45 a.m. Hey it's an update! I finally got back to my paper at around 1 after a looong break where I basically just chatted with Nabila and Daisy about nothing. Translation: my procrastination tendencies did not magically evaporate over the summer months, damn it.

I'm actually done with it now but I had to cut out a lot of necessary stuff for which I'd already outlined and written clever little segues. I arrived at 6 pages before I noticed all the topics which I still hadn't covered outlined there on page 7. I hope she doesn't mark me off for my selections, but it just had to be done!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006