|The London Times|

Supa-long Entry
Tuesday, Oct. 14, 2003 at 10:20 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I have my new computer, a G4 15.2 titanium Mac Powerbook. It is gorgeous. We have file sharing at my school through our wireless network. This is a work of God, because this means I have the access to the MP3s of EVERYONE who has their file-sharing, but it takes up NO memory on my computer. Therefore I have thousands and thousands songs files at my disposal as long as I'm logged into the network. I can't burn them or anything though, but still, wow. I can already tell that I will miss mooching off everyone's songs over the summer and winter breaks. My schoolmates have great taste in music!

I realized that I didn't say anything about Arnold winning my homestate. Well. For those who missed my passionate rant on my AIM profile, I have even a few more words. First of all, I find it ironic that only a few months ago, during the war campaign, the Republicans contemptuously dismissed any celebrity who was raising his or her voice, and told them that they had no business in politics (even though, HELLO!, as Americans they have that very right precisely.) However, now who should be the most populous state's governor? Not only an aging REBUPLICAN Hollywood actor (an action hero no less), but someone whom you would think they would have even less of a place in American politics � a non-American! It's unbelievable. Also, who voted for him? I voted against the recall/for Bustamente, personally. You know no one in San Francisco voted for him. It was bad enough that he ran, but he was elected. What is this? How can this be?? When I found out, I literally began to tremble in horror. I am so glad I am removed from this; it makes the denial that much easier.

Onward! Paris. . .

Wonderful. Better than last time in that this time I had complete free choice. Last time, yes, we did get to sing in Notre Dame, and I was with my good high school friends, and we were there for a week rather than a weekend. Yet still. . . I was able to make my own decisions, and, almost as importantly, go out to the bars and clubs!

We started off at the Champs Elysee after des crepes delicieux: au fromage et jambon (les Parisiens aiment leur jambon et fromage, hehe). From there was a long long journey up the Eiffel Tower, but it yielded some breathtaking scenery. It reminded my of my trip to the top of the Empire State Building, but in this case you could see the absolute genius of the engineering right in front of you. At the top I bought a miniature version of the landmark, which is sitting next to my half-empty absinthe bottle (more on that later) on my shelf.

We spent the evening sipping incongruously expensive drinks in the Latin Quarter. I met some American girl on the street who was swaying drunk. She claimed my dad was her Italian Prof at Berkeley, but only after I told her his name, so I think she was lying. Scratch that, she was definitely lying! She said, "Where are you from?"

Me: "San Francisco."

Her: "Me too! I go to Berkeley."

My: (at this point I believed her.) "Oh! My dad teaches there."

Her: "What does he teach?"

Me: "Italian."

Her: "I took Italian. What is his name?"

Me: "-my dad's name-"

Her: "That's my teacher."

Me: (skeptical) "Oh really."

Doesn't that seem like a lie to you? A drunk-style lie, right? And she was so insistent, lol!

After drinking several 8 Euro drinks we ate some 4 Euro gyros. Definitely a better deal. It was then 4 am, and we spent about two hours trying to find an open Metro station. It didn't happen. Luckily I somehow speak better French now than when I went last time (?!), so I was communicating well, or else I don't know how we would have gotten back to our hotel, considering we had no idea what it was called, we were sloshy, and our cab driver spoke no English.

By the way, when i say 'we' I'm talking about my friends Sarah and Ben. I don't hang out with them as much normally, but we've gone on both trips with one another and we are good travel buddies.

The next day we woke up at the crack of nine (so difficult, believe me!) to wander Monmartre. It was the weekend of stairs. So. Many. Stairs. I never knew so many stairs could be climbed in one weekend, first with the Eiffel Tower, then avec les escaliers de la butte de Monmartre ( withthe stairs of Montmartre Hill). At least my legs will be toned this week. . .

Again, though, the views were worth it. This time they were by day, we could see the entire city spread before us. Of course, also up there is Basilique Sacre Coeur, which has appearred in films such as Amelie and Moulin Rouge (in the first shots showing the hill in its entirety, you can see it being constructed on the summit).

Speaking of The Moulin Rouge, no trip would be complete with out a pilgrimage. In daylight however, it's disappointing. it looks much better in the nighttime, with it's electrical fanfare. But we didn't have time to check it out at night! I just wanted to stop by anyway.

Afterwards we metro'ed over to Ile de la Cite, for Notre Dame, and that's where we lost Sarah. Ben and I were talking and laughing about something, and then next thing we know we turn around and Sarah is gone. To make matters worse, I had forgotten my phone in London, with her number, and Ben didn't have it. So we waited by the riverside for half an hour, hoping she'd turned up, absolutely baffled by her disappearrance. When she didn't turn up this way, way went to the thronging square in front of Notre Dame, but she was no where to be seen. Also, she didn't know how to get back to the hotel, use the Metro, or speak a word of French! (Well that last one isn't fair. She knows merci). So we sat down and there we waited for another forty-five minutes, completely unsure of what to do. Finally, he was going to call everyone he had in his phonebook to see if they had her number or knew someone who did. So far we were having no luck, but then I looked up, and three hundred yards off I spot a tiny (because it was so far) blonde head amidst the crowds. I ran as I've never run before! I shouted her name, in slow motion. All the tourists stared. But I didn't care! I still say it's a miracle we found her in that giant area. L'ile de la Cite is only the most central part of Paris. How amazing. Turns our that she bent down to tie her shoes and when she looked up we were gone. *Shrug*

Night #2: We located a store that sold absinthe, and tried a few tastes of the drink in Monmartre, near Cafe Des Artistes where the great artists of the time such as Toulouse Lautrec shared a drink of the same name (but not excatly the same content�that stuff's illegal now!). I felt very at-one with Paris, but perhaps that was just the thuzone acting up!

Someone we managed to find our way back to the hotel again (no clue how we were so lucky), and again we woke up early the next morning, this time for a day at Versaille. Those gardens are so beautiful, and it could not have been a more perfect Fall day.

Sarah and Ben were disappointed that we didn't get to make it to the Louvre, as was I, but since it's only two and a half hours away from here, we can go back! In fact, I would love to just do a museum/art exhibit weekend in Paris. How cool would that be? And it's actually realy easy for me to do, which is the amazing part.

So, to wrap up, here are a few highights I haven't yet mentioned:

Le Metro. It was quite an adventure traversing all over the place using this very easy and very efficient system.

The food. Dear God, the lunch we had in Montmartre was nothing short of perfection, finished off by the most tasty strawberry tartlette I've ever had.

Making-out couples. I'm being facetious here but really! I've never seen so many people indulging in shameless PDA in my life. I guess the fact that it's Paris does make it make sense. . .

I mentioned this one, but using my French again was wonderful. Last time I was disappointed that I wasn't as fluent as I thought, but this time I was pleasantly surprised by how well I did. Maybe I'm just getting more confident in using it.

Well, Hell week is over, and it was a wonderful weekend ending it. Officially this is Hell Week for everyone else. I guess I just got mine over with earlier, but the results have amazingly been better than okay.

In my Lit class, my professor (the Cambridge/Harvard one who heads up the Lit Department) announced he was handing back papers, and I wanted to hide. I felt that that paper was the worst piece of drivel I'd ever had the misfortune to hand it, and that it was insult to my professor and a waste of his time. So, I was anticipating remarka along the lines of "C- I am disappointed at your lack of effort; I expected more of you." So I don't know if you can even imagine the shock I received when instead it read, "A. This is the best paper I have read from an underclassman in years. Congratulations."

My jaw literally dropped and I just sat gaping at the comment. He even mentioned me in class and said I was the only A he awarded. This is proof to me that miracles do happen. Somehow in my caffeine-induced ADHD state at 4 in the morning I managed to churn out something he found special. I still marvel at the thought of it, but I'm overjoyed! I'm definitely thinking about recommendation letters now. . .

Okay, that was a long entry. Hopefully you haven't tuned out by now!

P.S.

Apparently the S.F. MOMA date format works every time, eh Ry? ;-)

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006