|The London Times|

Interesting Perception
Tuesday, April 20th, 2004 at 2:25 p.m.

Sooner or Later

Mindy, who likes a "smoke" (wink) before bed now and then, was leaving to head outside the house when she paused, turned to me and said, "You know, if I were you and my roommate always smoked before bed and I didn't smoke, I'd be really creeped out by her. Are you?"

It's true that Alyssa has mentioned the Mindy smokes a lot, but I just replied, "Well you are our token pothead friend."

She asked who Sarah was, and who Alyssa was.

"Sarah is our token Jewish friend."

"Alyssa is the token bitch."

"And you can tell her that too!"

"She'd probably be proud."

So then who am I? Apparently I'm the token girl with a boyfriend. Hahaha! Wow, how odd.

This came up at the lunch the next day and Alyssa was indeed content with her token bitch status, but we amended Sarah's to our token "cheap Jew" friend. She shurgged concedingly at that, she hears it from Alyssa and Mindy all the time but she claims she's "thrifty."

I said I didn't want to be the token girl with a boyfriend since that was over soon anyway, so there must be more than that, and Alyssa revealed that considering my personality, I strike her as the type of girl who's always in a relationship! I was quite shocked. And Mindy added, "Yes, yesterday I told her that she didn't want to like anyone, she wants to love them." (Which she had, in reference to something else)

I suppose it is true. I like to have a close-knit circle of friends and actual relationships, as opposed to makeout/sex buddies, or casual friendships based on just going out or something. This way I always can put down roots, even if I'm far from home, and wherever I am, I feel secure in knowing that I'm surrounded by good people.


Addendum!
I just got back from a class in which we had paper returned to us, a 3,000 word paper worth fifty-five percent of our grade! I was so, so apprehensive because I felt uncertain of the quality of the paper ("Manifested Messianism: the Relationship Between Manifest Destiny and Mexicans"), which I had. . .coughdone the night beforecough. As I reached for it, my heart pounded and I felt faint with dreading anticipation. Afterall, I need to achieve high grades this semester to attain that $9,000 scholarship my school is considering for me (pending this term's marks!). So a lot was riding on receiving a good grade on this. Yes, I know I still did it the night before, and so I would have deserved a lesser grade. So I tried to find the grade but couldn't locate it anywhere, so I practically ripped the thing apart, finally to find it face down behind my works cited paper. THANK GOD! I got an A. Sweet sweet relief.

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006