|The London Times|

Trading Up! Muahaha
Sunday, October 5th, 2003 at 4:05 p.m.

Sooner or Later

I got kicked out of the gay bar. And it wasn't even something cool and scandalous like I was trying to grope all the gay men, or I was shouting obscenities from the table tops, or even that I was hogging the mic. It was for a stupid reason, which wasn't even my fault really.

My friend Sarah snuck a can of beer into the club, of which I disapproved. Nonetheless, she drank it, and I gave in and had one teensy sip then handed it back to her. Nothing happened, and we kept grooving to the singers and waiting for our song Tainted Love to come up. Then half an hour after Sarah had even finished her drink one of the bartenders grabbed my elbow and said. "You brought a can of beer into this bar. That's illegal and you have to leave now." I was quite disgruntled, not to mention thrown. First of all, it was about forty five minutes after I'd had my one sip!!! Why, randomly, did he just approach me then? Secondly, the can was passed around between three people who shared it the most, yet I was the one kicked out, and thirdly, I was seriously irked because I had been the one who had said it was a bad idea and now that bartender had blamed it squarely on me. Ironic, yet very, very aggravating. So I left, pissed, but I left quietly because I didn't want a scene to make them rememeber me. I wasn't quite angry with anyone in particular, but I was definitely irritated that I'd been kicked out, for something which I hadn't approved of in the first place.

We tried to find other places that were open but I was the only one who had dressed up to others' dress codes. My other friends figured that since it was a gay bar they could go casual. So we just ended up going home. Isn't that sad? We didn't even get to sing our song!

On Friday I worked in Hell a.k.a Gap. I can't believe I've only worked there one week and I already loathe it from the depths of my soul. All I can do is keep the greater picture in mind, i.e. my salary. It's so sad that that's its redeeming quality, but it is also inspiration to do well in school. That way I'll have a career I love for what it is, instead of 'just doing it for the money.'

Yesterday Mindy and I braved Oxford Circus, and I do mean braved. That place is INSANE on Saturdays, especially since there are sales going on currently. The wolf packs are out! And the tourists, somehow, even though it's October. I did come out with some fabulous new jeans and a brown belt (much needed I assure you), which I am in fact wearing right now. And I did get them with a 50% discount, which is, I guess, another perk of working for Gap.

Mindy, on the other hand, was on the hunt for some sexy underwear, since she and her new guy are apparently having a, er, rendezvous, this weekend. I am very happy for her, and for me. . .I will stop having to hear her complain about "how much she misses sex" all the time, lol!

But I love my roommate. I prefer living with her so much. We're just really relaxed and comfortable with each other, so that makes the room much more homey.

Yes, that's right. . .I switched rooms. I'm still in Montford House, but I went several floors up, so now I'm tucked away in an upper corner of the house, which I like even more than my bottom floor room. For one, it's more cozy because the ceilings (although still fairly high) are much shorter, and it just seems more house-like and less hotel-like.

The reason I moved was purely technical, despite the fact that for me it was, admittedly, an emotional relief as well. Elana, under the guise that she 'can't keep Kosher' with the school food, said she needs to get off the meal plan and have the kitchen in D renovated for daily use. The truth is she just doesn't like the meals provided and that's her excuse. However, for the school to give a student a refund and have it worth their while to redo the kitchen, the whole flat has to be cool with going off the meal plan. Basically, there was no way in hell I was going ot go off. I know that if I went off of it, I would literally never, ever eat. The rest of my flat was okay with it, though. So, since Lauren, Mindy's former roommate, also wanted to go off of it, and Elana and she are good friends, and Mindy and I are also good friends (though we're all close really), we decided to switch.

Now, though, it appears that Lauren regrets this because Elana seems to be getting on her nerves too, but what can ya do? They are the ones who wanted to switch! Mindy and I are pretty smug about that though, since I was the one inconvenienced 'for them' but the switch is working out much better for us. I do empathize with Lauren, but at the same time I am thinking 'phew, at least it's not me,' hehe.

Today I was supposed to see the matinee of The Lion King in the West End, but once again it doesn't work out. Somehow I continue to miss it because of one facor or another. In this case it's my workload. It's really heavy, and since I'm working 20 damned hours next week I won't really have another opportunity to do it. So, after this somewhat incoherent entry, I bid adieu!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:

What I'm reading:

What I'm Wearing:

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006