|The London Times|

Wrapping up Vacation *Sad Penguin Face*
Friday, January 14, 2005 at 1:37 p.m.

Sooner or Later


Today is my last full day at home before returning to school. It's hard to believe that it's been a month, on one hand, because it seems like it's been an extremely long vacation, yet on the other hand, it would be nice to just have this weekend at home, since it's a long one and I could have actually done something with my family. . .

C'est la vie.

I got my very first jury summons the other day, which made me laugh at them. "You think that you can get me to go to jury duty? FOOLS!" When I took my year off of school, I was almost hoping I'd get it, so that it would get knocked out of the way, and since I plan to go to law school and become a trial lawyer I thought it might make interesting experience. True. . .we don't all get the interesting cases. I'd probably get some custoday argument of a shitzu or worse, some white collar embezzlement with a million numbers that would bore me to tears. Though actually, getting assigned to major cases runs in the family. Both my parents sat in court on high-profile ones in their day: my dad's was a murder (found guilty) and my mom was on some hiest scheme.

But too late now! In fact I just called to check my status and heard "your questionnaire's answers have disqualified you from serving jury duty in the near future." That's right, you lost your chance didn't you? (I love having hypothetical conversations with some general mildly opressing force out there - great fun).

Ah, now to pack *vomit* Here's the thing, is the thing. . .the thing is, um yeah. . .this is going to be unpleasant.
Let's run through what I've been up to while home, shall we?

- Christmas
- My birthday
- Assorted shopping for 'neccessities' (including one massive down comfortor that will be. . .interesting. . .to fit in, alog with everything else)
- Being home with my parents and therefore shopping for definite unneccessities too, such as a horde of new DVDs and DVD sets (like I say, DVDs are for college students what cigarettes are got prisoners. . .)

PLUS, on too of all that! I have to bring back everything I brought, which I have to say, was 80% unused during this month. Why can I not learn??? At the time it seemed like every bit was going to be used, and I TRIED to be practical, but no. It's useless.

Today my friend Ryan is coming over and we're going to decode his iPod--apparently it's not working or at least he's mystified by it. I admit they can be a bit confuzzling and first so we're going to figure it out together, damnit.

Then for my last night my mom and I are going out with one of my best friend's Katie (back from school in Seattle for the weekend), and her mom for dinner. Our moms have known each other since we were little, and while Katie and I also played when we were young (but then re-met up in high school), I think our mothers have a better memory of that time, and therefore a stronger link with then, than us. Anyway, we're both very close to our moms so it's always a pleasure for the four of us to go out.

I know I've been lax in saying what's been up during this break, so here's a quick rundown (more for my own recording of events than for anyone else's enjoyment, so if you don't care. . .then 'THE END')

After Christmas I had my birthday party, and it was a surprise which was awesome! I didn't know what my friends were planning, but I thought Katie was going to pick me up and take me somewhere, so my mom and I went to go see Lemony Snicket, and we were supposed to be back in time for her to come. She dropped me off saying she had to run to the market, and I hurried upstairs to get ready for Katie, and then SURPRISE!!! I was soooo surprised. SO. It was utterly unexpected in that form! SO it turned out that a group of my friends had come early and made a huge dinner for all of us, so we had a fun sit down dinner party at home and then we went out to various clubs and bars. It was raining but that didn't matter, it was an awesome birthday.

For New Years it was kind of annoying because everyone looked to Katie and me to provide the plans, which made the two of us a bit anxious since all these people had conflicting desires for the night, and no one really wanted to compromise. Some of us are 21, some aren't, some of us wanted to go to a party of another friend, some of us wanted to just have a kickback at mine. . .see, usually I have a party on New Year's, but this year I just didn't feel like going to the trouble. I mean, last time I spent $200 on alcohol and no one fronted anything in return!! Yeahhh, so I decided to take it out of my hands this year, but it provided many difficulties. Finally we decided to spend some time at this friend's party, and then the people who just wanted to go to mine could pick us up and we could spend midnight intimately back at home. This worked out fine except that the party was so fun! We didn't want to leave, and in fact Katie didn't. So it was just 4 of us who went back to my place but we smoked a little and we were already a bit drunk so it was craazaay. PROBLEM: I had to work the next day. I had to be there at EIGHT AM!!!

Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww. I can't even express how disgusting that was.

Also, I work with kids who are all over the place and very energetic so it was massively difficult. What made it even worse was that when I finally got home, hungover and exhausted, my friends were still in their PJs lounging in bed! And I had to work a full day every single day after that, so I got no rest til I went to SoCal. Needless to say, I was so sleepy that first day. . .

But now I'm back and I have been oversleeping everyday, yesss. Though I better get ready to figure out how to get back on to London time. I start school the morning after I arrive! No sleeping in then!!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Dusty Springfield I Only Want To Be With You

What I'm reading:
Good In Bed

What I'm Wearing:
Dark jeans, black tank (vest), and hot pink hoodie (jumper).

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006