|The London Times|

First Few Days
Wednesday, January 19th, 2005 at 10:20 a.m.

Sooner or Later

I'm back in London and it feels wonderful to return to my other home--how strange it is that something can become home-like so quickly. I guess that I just tend to put down roots where I stand (except for freshman year in Southern California, lol). But anyway. . .

Just like I knew it would be, it's extremely weird being on campus with an entirely different set of faces. My friends who were study-abroads last semester have returned home and been replaced by many new ones, whom I haven't yet gotten to know. Also, I don't know if I will put in as much as an effort this time: not on purpose, it's just that all my friends are back, plus I have a friend from home doing a semester in London at another school.

A further development: I have a roommate. Her name is Brittany and she's from outside of Chicago. I've yet to suss out whether or not she's evil (translation: replublican), but she has an extremely color-coordinated closet full of sweaters and knits. It's very weird, and is taking some getting used to (having a roommate, as well as the OCD color-coordination). It's just that it was MY room, and now someone else is living there too. Also, I spent a lot of time during mid-December re-arranging the room to most fully accommodate a roommate, and I finally figured out an arrangement which made the room look large, gave us each our own sides, and made the most of the space. However, I got in on Sunday and opened the door, and it was completely switched around and HIDEOUS. She put the closets in front of the windows (!!!) which are the best features of the room, since we live on the corner and have half our walls spanned with them. Also, her bed was practically right next to mine. I was kind of weirded out that she changed it completely around without waiting to ask me about it (since I already lived there), but aside from that initial thing, she's fine so far. We compromised about the setup and so at least there are no longer window obstructions. We've only lived together for a few days of course, but we're getting along as of now. I can kind of tell we won't be good friends though, just roommates.

Last night my friends and I went to The Black Widow and caught up, and we've decided that we're sick of all the couple-ness smothering us from all around and we'll find boyfriends of our own this semester. However! I will not go back to any ex-boyfriends just out of laziness. I do have a meeting with Carl sooner or later now, but I'm no longer attracted to him, not after John went and ruined everything with his perfection (and what has happened with him is another story, for another time). So starting tomorrow we're putting out the signals; it's thursday night at Cavanaughs! I don't know how many people are really aware of it yet this semester, but we'll see because actually I just met a girl at breakfast who was hung-over because she had gone crazy at Sports Cafe! I thought, Wow, that's fast for people to catch on to what goes on on Tuesday nights! One of my most interesting nights last semester took place there, and I still have the enormously swollen ankle to prove it!

Well I have class shortly so I'd better take off, ta.

P.S.
Aileen, update your diary!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Rent's Light My Candle

What I'm reading:
I've expended all my book resources for now.

What I'm Wearing:
Navy blue sweats, my school's tee

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006