|The London Times|

Quite an Eventful Week
Monday, January 31st, 2005 at 1:31 a.m.

Sooner or Later

Well, this week has been rather eventful, in fact there�s almost too much to talk about! I�ve actually tried several times to start with an entry but I always feel like I have to be doing something else too soon to give it proper attention. . .and now that I really do have something to do (a massive heap of art history reading, surprise, surprise, procrastinating) I feel like I can grasp it. Okay enough hype. . .now all this will seem lame, hahahah.

As you can see, my old layout is back (yay!!). This is because the only way you can purchase a gold membership is if you do it through Paypal, and I have finally figured it out due to a new London mailing address. For some reason it had something against my last one and wouldn�t let anything go through. But no more, hahaha! And as further celebration of my Paypal success I bought a pair of sunglasses on eBay which only accepted it as the method of payment, huah! But yes, the good old layout is back. And so are pictures. This entry will have many pictures (so if it is taking ages to load, this is why).

On Tuesday my school held auditions for the V-Day production of The Vagina Monologues, and I decided to secretly audition for them, and tell no one. See, I have an enmity towards the school�s drama production that everyone knows, and it wouldn�t do to have people know that I was buckling. . .I had a horrible time with the first audition I experienced, if you could even call it an audition, it was so unprofessional. That entry is here. But I missed acting so much, and my good friends had such an exceptional experience at their school in the same project, that I couldn�t stay away. Luckily, to my happiness, it is actually student-run and the auditions were extremely proficient and well-run. I read for My Short Skirt which is a woman going on about how she wears her short skirt for her, and not for the benefit of any man, or what he thinks it might insinuate about her character. I was given this to look over for a few minutes while someone went before me, but once I got inside and I�d gotten through that they immediately thrust another one in my hand. I had no time to look it over; I had to immediately begin to read, and so I had no feel for the tone, but somehow that confusion worked because it led to a sound of awe, which I soon learned was fitting because the monologue talks about the miracle of giving birth. The other monologues have come about inspired by hundreds of interviews, but this one was actually based on Eve Ensler (the playwright)�s own experience witnessing the birth of her grandchild. Well I felt as if I nailed it, and it was such a rush to be acting again that when I left the room I almost felt light-headed. The co-directors told me that they�d let me know the next day. I eagerly checked my mail on Wednesday and I had gotten it! Also what makes it especially great is that it�s the finale, so I end off the show.

Today was our first rehearsal, and it went really smoothly. There are only 12 of us in the cast so we�ll get to know each other well, but we really don�t have long to put this together, We need to be utterly off-book by Valentine�s day and the show opens in a little less than a month. So needless to say, the rehearsal schedule will be a bit intense. But I�m so thrilled to be part of the production, and on stage again (have I mentioned that?) It�s just been too long. It�s a small production compared to those in which I�ve participated previously, but it�s meaty, and I�m really looking forward to it

Then on Wednesday our school threw it�s bi-annual start-of-term party, and I�ve never made it to any before but I decided to make it this time, and well, it was rather interesting! Rewind to spring semester of last year: my friend Alyssa and I were heading into the city on the underground and we ran into Brad, an IT guy at our school, who is the ultimate nerd. It turns out he knows everything there is to possibly know about the underground system, and we go along with it to humour him because, it turns out, he has never kissed a girl. Alyssa, feeling a bit morbidly fascinated I�m guessing, invites him with us on our outing and we end up spending the entire day with him at Canary Wharf! Still, we cannot get over the fact that he is 19 and has never so much as had a peck on the lips. Yet it�s entirely unsurprising at the same time as we get to know his personality and he �wows� us further with his intimate, intimate knowledge of the London Underground. Still, we were nice and he seemed to have a fun day, and then that night Aylssa prolonged it by suggesting we go to a club. Again my feeling was she was interested in watching him try and cope with such a social environment and observing it as though it was an experiment (that would be so her). However he refused and we ended up at a pub, and when he got too awkward she abandoned me to smoke outside and I was forced to go full-charm in order to put him at ease. I was quite annoyed at the time, actually, but after that, it becomes a running joke amongst all my friends that one of us should just do a good deed and be the poor guy�s first kiss, but afterwards we'd all laugh a bit about it, slightly meanly I suppose. . .


Okay back to Thursday night. All of my friends and I arrived at around ten-thirty, already having pre-partied in my room (Elyssium drinks are out of my price range, darling) and there amongst the dance floor, who should we spot, but Brad! Brad who refused to go to parties was dancing his almost-ass off (kid has not-much ass). We all noticed and wondered if he still had not kissed a girl. Someone commented that he actually looked normal��cute, even!� in a shocked-sounding voice. Slowly, ideas began to form in my intoxicated mind. . .

So we chatted to him a bit and caught up, and he wasn�t as socially awkward as before, although he did admit that no, he still hadn�t kissed a girl. I felt a sort of wicked excitement as I decided that I would end that, for sure.

The problem is, like most girls, I don�t want a guy who has no experience or self-confidence. Nonetheless I was not sober, and I felt sorry for him (20 by now!), and it seemed like a very good drunken mission (I love those ever so much). Also, I was finding him physically attractive. The night wore on and my girlfriends and I danced amongst ourselves and with other people we knew, and I did buy another drink, and then he and I met on the dance floor and so we started to dance, feeling very satisfied with myself lol. He was actually a good dancer and so I didn�t mind, and my friends were all rooting for me because in fact they felt that one of us should be his first too (I don�t know why we decided to take it upon ourselves) and I�m sure that they were glad it was me and not them undertaking the challenge. But I could tell they were getting a kick out of it too. Finally it seemed that he was getting tired out (apparently it was the latest he�d ever stayed out!) and so I gave him a kiss on the cheek, but shock of shocks, he initiated one on the lips! But oh my god the boy could not kiss. SO I actually had to give him directions, and give it several more tries. It did improve, but wow, I don�t think I�ve ever been anyone�s first kiss before, and I wouldn�t have ever expected this to have happened at my age! Nonetheless, I completed my mission. He has now kissed someone! Just call me Summer Roberts (he is cute in that Seth Cohen way), but even though he has been texting me, I sadly can�t go there. I need someone who has kissed people aside from me. . .I�m not being mean to him, of course, just not flirtatious.

Next night Friday, out again, this time at Opal, a club I pass everyday since it�s a block away from me. I�ve never gone in though, and we all felt like a cheap night so we headed over. It was guest-list only but we sweet-talked the bouncer and after 10 minutes he let us in for free, yay!

Here are pictures from both nights, as well as some from last night:

I have crazy red-eye here:

That beer was all I could afford there, like I said it was a cheap night!

Alyssa's always doing something weird in pictures


Redheads unite! (Sarah and me)

These guys go to our school and now we're friends, yay!

Sticking out my tongue, obviously!

This is a touch random.

These next two pics are from Sports Cafe now.





At Picadilly


Well tomorrow is Monday again, JOY, and I should probably get to that HUGE heap of reading. Have a great week, everyone!

P.S.
I am addicted to hummus, which may seem like a strange thing to become addicted to, but there you have it. Tesco, 70p! And 6 pittas for 38p, woohoo! (Beats Ranoush Juice�s �4.50, non?) That�s like a whole meal for a quid. . .whaaat? In London??

Here�s another Tesco recommend: the pomegranate juice. Except it�s not called that, it�s called Pomegreat. And it is!

Sooner or Later

What song is playing on my iTunes right now:
Rilo Kylie's It's A Hit

What I'm reading:
Reading for my major requirements' classes.

What I'm Wearing:
cropped pale pink striped pajama bottoms and a white v-neck man's Hanes undershirt.

Back to anecdotal journalism again! - Tuesday, May 1st, 2007
Plan? - Monday, Jun. 19, 2006
FINALLY things are going better!
(This month redefined my understanding of stress and 'hell')
- Monday, April 24th, 2006
Just a few more days! - Monday, February 27th, 2006
Another one to chalk up to College Experiences - Sunday, February 12th, 2006

Chloe � 2006